Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-07-2003, 12:11 AM   #1
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default LOD problem

ok so with my spiders I want to use the Level of Detail groupings to use higher poly versions of my spiders close up. This is fine and I can get it working fine by grouping them together etc etc. But the problem is that because I am working with instances of the LOD groups the calculation is based on the original group (which stays at the origin and never moves, it's the instances that move). So my question is how can I make the calculation be based on the instance rather than the original group? At the moment all that happens is I get the low poly version unless I start to move intowards the origin (when it picks up the original geometry)

Any ideas? or if you need clarification on it then post and I will try to be more clear.

I guess it will involve some scripting (I'm comfortable with that)

Cheers

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 01:27 PM   #2
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

not sure if that could help - dont know about lod groups. but you could try to make real copyies of the LOD groups, and place the geometry in as instance from the geometry. if it calculates by distance of the LOD group, then you would be ok, if it calculates by the distance of the geometry (which would still be instanced) then it would not work.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 02:04 PM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ahhh I see what you're saying. That seems quite feasible..... hmmm big changes will be needed to my script but I can give it a try. Only problem now is when it flicks between the different res models. The only way I can think of doing it is to blend between the opacities of the materials of each model. Only problem is: 300 spiders * 3 models = 900 materials! lol hmmm could be interesting.....

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.