Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-12-2003, 03:54 AM   #1
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default subdiv > polygon - split polygon doesn't work?

hey all,
i made a subd model of a kitty, converted to polygons, deleted the poly (the big cage lookin thing) from the outliner and now am left with subdTess1 as my model. when i go to make finer adjustments to the model, using split polygon tool, it doesn't seem to work. in the command feedback box it comes up seeming like it split alright (says result: polySplit1 as usual) but the changes aren't there. no more faces, no more edges, just seems like it didn't work. just to see if i was crazy i decided to see if extrude edge/extrude face don't work either, thinking maybe you just are stuck with changes after you delete the poly and lave the subdTess model, but they do, so there must be something up with the split poly tool or something, has this happened to anyone else? anyone able to come up with a fix?

thanks
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2003, 12:27 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yeah but you cant use the split poly tool on a subdiv. At the moment you have a subdiv mesh not a poly. you really shouldnt have deleted the cage cause that's what you would have used the split poly tool on. Do you have an older saved file? either that or convert the subdivs to polys (but the mesh will be dene as hell)

sorry

ALan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2003, 03:06 PM   #3
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Pure is right, the poly tools don't work on subd surfaces.
Sounds like you didn't convert to polys, just moved into the 'poly proxy' mode of the subd surface (which gives you a poly cage linked to the subd). You can convert to polys at level 0, that will remove any higher level edits from the subd surface, but will yield a clean lowpoly mesh. (edit -> convert -> subd to polys) The true poly mesh will be alot faster to edit than the poly proxy. You can then reconvert back to subd when you are done editing.
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2003, 05:04 PM   #4
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hm, i am confused. i started with a subd object to create the initial form of it, then i converted to poly using the modify > convert > subd to poly. settings in the option window are:

uniform tess method, level 0, div per face 1, show original object, uncheck keep subd normals and check share uv's.

basically i used the conversion method that kevin(?) used in the subd dog video in the free training section.

i understand that the cage part was my polys at first, and by deleting that i deleted the workable sections, but if i converted subd to poly, and it's treating this object as if it were a poly object (i can select edges, individual faces, vertices, etc on every face, rather than kinda 1 face per plane with the subd cage), why isn't it a poly object now?

if i try to convert subd > poly now, it tells me to select an object to be tesselated (object is selected though). i'm just kinda confused as to what the difference is between having a subd object and having a poly object that was converted, because it seems like it's all the same thing...and what's the point of modelling in subd if you can't convert to polys to make fine adjustments?



last question: if i used a bad method to convert subd to poly, is there a good way that i can use to convert subd to an editable poly mesh so i can continue working on it without having to start over? thanks to everyone
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo

Last edited by soulcialism : 01-12-2003 at 05:18 PM.
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2003, 06:36 PM   #5
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

couldn't you try the poly proxy mode in subD's menu ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2003, 08:18 PM   #6
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if i do the poly proxy mode, it doesn't let you do fine tuning type stuff, like i want to make a face and paws and stuff, but in poly proxy mode you can't make edgeloops and stuff like that. was it just a bad idea to start out in subd and convert to try to finish in poly?
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 05:04 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.