Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Lounges > Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

View Poll Results: How do you use the UI?
Hotbox and Shortcuts ONLY! 3 16.67%
Lots of Hotbox, Lots of Shortcuts, Occasional Menu 6 33.33%
Some Menus, Some Shortcuts, Some Hotbox 8 44.44%
Mostly Menus and ToolBox... occasionally I use shortcuts and have used the Hotbox a few times 1 5.56%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2003, 03:10 PM   #1
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How do you use the UI?

I'd be very interested to know how you're all using the UI in Maya.

I'm quite a nOOb, so I tend to use a bit of everything... I'd be interested to know what the more experienced folk find themselves doing.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 03:27 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I use the shelf pretty heavily. Not sure if that's what you mean by shortcuts or not. Have to say I rarely use the Hotbox.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 03:54 PM   #3
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
I use the shelf pretty heavily. Not sure if that's what you mean by shortcuts or not. Have to say I rarely use the Hotbox.
Shortcuts = shortcut keys.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 07:29 PM   #4
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I must say ever since they introduced the shelves I have been using them alot more. Majority of the tools I use are set there if not I can easily just put something in the custom shelf.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 09:04 PM   #5
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

hotkeys mostly, no hotbox. but ya didn't have that one. So I used the 2nd one anyway.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 11:59 PM   #6
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Always use the shelf, some shortcuts, menus when needed.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2003, 02:40 PM   #7
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I use the hotbox alot and ocassonally the shelf. but that is what I got used to after Maya 4.5 fundementals:p
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2003, 03:50 PM   #8
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I use mostly the hotbox and some custom marking menus I've set up. Some shelf stuff too, but not very often.
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2003, 04:26 PM   #9
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

All hotbox and custom marking menus. The only menus I use are from individual panel sets.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2003, 09:41 PM   #10
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Shelves, marking menus, and hotkeys for me. I like things in consistent places, so the Hotbox doesn't really work that well for me. Shelves work great for me, because I customize them like crazy. I some shelves that stay the same. I have others that I customize and change on the fly as I work. And of course, nothing is faster than hotkeys. A lot of the default hotkeys don't exist anymore. I've pretty much remapped most of the keyboard to my own keys.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2003, 03:00 AM   #11
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I should amend...I do have a few shelves setup but they're more for specialized tasks like creating paintfx hair....or using CPS. I rarely use them but I can definitely see their usefulness. Most of the time I have everything in the UI gone except for the views and their panel menus. I toggle the attribute editor and the channel box on/off as need be with hotkeys as well as the outliner and several other windows I use frquently.

I think the hotbox is pretty consistent for me because I use the default that shows all the menus. Then I just have specialized marking menus setup for various modeling types and editing so I don't have to hunt for them in the hotbox. As I go along, I find more things that I tend to use alot and just add them to the appropriate marking menu.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 04:55 PM   #12
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i use my, MIND...... and give commands to maya. no hands needed. that's because i have the "limitless unlimited" version, that costs a whopping 45k USD
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:47 PM   #13
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I use whatever is the easiest for a particular task. In general I try to avoid the menus as much as I can so that means I use a lot of shortcuts. My left hand is constantly on the keyboard while with the right hand I use the stylus pen (for all mouse work). I should get into that custom marking menu biz too since it certainly would speed up many tasks. Bottom line is that I try to do everything with minimal effort
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 08:11 PM   #14
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

shelf with all my short cuts=)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 11:08 PM   #15
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

don't rightly know what hotbox's are, but I use shelves, the menus, and shortcuts equally. I do not use custom marking menus at all.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.