Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 17-04-2008 , 02:23 PM
phonk's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 44

supernewbie question

I'm a worthless melscripter, but I need to setup a very very simple thing:

I have five objects. Now I want to make object2 translate 0.9 times the translation of object1. And make object3 translate 0.8 times the translation of object1, and so forth..

I reckon it's deadsimple, but I just don't have the time to dive into melscripting for a few days to get the basics in my head..

t.i.a.


'surf now, apocalypse later'
# 2 17-04-2008 , 03:45 PM
phonk's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 44
got it!!
Googled a bit and found this script:

int $frameOffset = 3;
int $currentFrame = `currentTime -q`;

for ($i=1; $i<=300; $i++)
{
int $currentOffset = $currentFrame - ($frameOffset*$i);
string $CMD = "setAttr domino" + $i + ".rz " + `getAttr -t $currentOffset dominoMaster.rz`;
eval $CMD;
}

that does the trick!
whoowhoopeedoo


'surf now, apocalypse later'
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads