Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-12-2006, 02:25 PM   #31
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Originally posted by caligraphics
And I am sure I will like vista - especially since it borrowed so much from OSX - but lest not start that discussion.
Well Vista is Just OS X is almost a duplicate.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2006, 08:21 PM   #32
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i suspect some programs to be not really cosher, seeing we all own maya, avid, and whatever else came down the line that took our fantasy, and wondered how much that has to do with crashing,

this PC is purring at the moment. (an so is the mac)

i am about to put avid composer and all its peripherials (which are many) on to this PC, also Premier because i have a deadline and i havent used Avid before because the avid i had was express or something and had no driver for my camera. I would continue to use the PC for maya because i dont think the I mac would handle it (at a near 100% CPU rating consistantly) and more to the piont, i want ALL the software on the mac to be cosher and with all the plugins that came with protools and M Box 2 and the I mac, i would never need to accire any from anywhere. if i cant make music with what has been supplied LEGALLY with those two pieces of hardware then i should just leave and wonder the earth like Kain from Kung Fu.

this is a good piont with the I mac, it has come with Reason, Aplton live, Sampletank, T-Racks, and the list goes on, even more came with protools via the M Box 2 has many more plugins , many many...

i dont care which i use, mac or PC, but if its needed for work then its needed for work.

i am just glad to hear good things about the I Mac and sure i suspect it to be dated in 6 months butr i have no choice if i want to go with the indusrty flow.

i hear mnay good things about both macs and PCs
and many bad things, it seems s matter of preferance,

i would not use avid on a mac, it was made for PC, sure it can run on the mac but.., FCP was designed for the mac (he says not knowing at all what hes talking about)

even the macs at the uni crash, but they are very mistreated by people who have no idea what they are doing and there is absolutely mininal, if any maintance.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2006, 06:26 AM   #33
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

the biggest problem is i have no idea of the filing system.

Gster i hope you can help. you said you taught FCP, i know it is best to have an external drive but im broke; how do i set up a partition or a folder for FCP. I dont even know where the system drive is on it??

Lads, put it anothr way too, if this were maya, where would everything be, i mean where is my documents, C folder (HD), program folder.

hope you guys can help, i cant do anything at the moment. too scared i'll do something stupid. I cant load ProTools because I have no external drive and i know it is best to have one, i dont know the filing system.

Hope all this makes sense
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.