Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-06-2010, 10:13 PM   #16
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Yeh Perfecto,

shift-d is cool isnt it!!!! make the copy ctrl-d, move to where you want and shift-d all day

LOL cheers bullet

stwert..I think you do have to set it for what you want shift-D. I have mine set @ -1 in x and leave it at that..mostly for mirroring fuselage etc
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 10:28 PM   #17
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

holdng d for moving the pivot
and
alt+h to hide everything other than the select object.

those are handy ones.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 10:41 PM   #18
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I didnt know that 'd' shortcut hammer!!!!!!!! bloody wicked man!!!! I have been using 'insert' etc etc all this time!!! which was a pain...and if you hold 'd and v or x' together it will snap to vert or grid...you just made my bloody day!

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 10:43 PM   #19
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yeah, I just said that on the last page ... along with a bunch of other random crap.
Try the MMB trick. Pretty sweeet.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2010, 12:20 AM   #20
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

LOL sorry stwert didnt see it...........old man syndrome
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2010, 08:23 PM   #21
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

unfortunately the whole keyboard is mapped with shortcuts. I heavily depend on marking menus...
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2010, 09:01 PM   #22
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jay
That dupe special key is a godsend where I come from. Why people dont use it I'll never know. You can set objects the exact same space apart without arsing with snapping and guess work. Its very cool for architectural work , for pillars and stuff. LOZ Im surprised you arent a fan, especially being a so called hardsurface guru. That command is in my tool box for sure

cheers
Jay
I use the command quite often mate, but not the short cut. Generally i have to change the settings in the option box each time i use the command again, for instance duplicating negative across x, then duplicating negative across y right after. the shortcut wont open the options box for me, so i have a shelf button for the DsO. if for some reason i am duplicating two separate objects with the same parameters then i will use the shortcut key, its just rare the i need the keyboard short cut for it.

make sense?

@ Perfecto & Bullet....funny that you use shift-d for that, the actual short cut is mapped to "D" normally i just hit caps lock and press d....less key strokes. or I'll press Shift-d and then g until i am done.

g-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:43 AM   #23
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Just had a stroke of brilliance (if I do say so myself :p ), I remapped Ctrl+D (that's Ctrl Shift d) to DuplicateSpecialOptions. Now the options box pops up every time I hit the hotkey... and I can use the hotkey now.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.