Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-03-2004, 11:16 PM   #1
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default Stairs

Is there a reletivly easy way to make stairs in maya 5? I thinkt he way im doing it is more dificult than it needs to be.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 11:23 PM   #2
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it depends on what style stairs you are making!
if they are straight up I would create 1 then duplicate it with transform.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 11:12 PM   #3
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Just any stairs you can think of. Starting to get annoying.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2004, 01:58 AM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

1) create poly cube.
2) Scale X: 4
3) Edit>Duplicate>OptionsBox
4) Check "Smart Transform" then click "duplicate"
5) snap (hold down x) new cube to Translate Y and Z to 1.
6) WITHOUT clicking anything else, press Ctrl d and a third cube will appear at translate Y and Z at 2. Press Ctrl d again and another cube will appear at translate 3, and so on and so forth for however many steps you want.

This same technique can be used with other types of stairs as well. If you wanted to do a spiral stair case, I would model a step first, then move it far from the grid center, then move the pivot opint to 0,0,0 and do the Smart Transform duplicate I explained above to make all the stairs you need. All you have to do is copy the first step you modeled once, move up a little and rotate it as needed, then Ctrl d it a few times.

Hope this helps.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.