Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 12-03-2004 , 05:44 PM

japanese room and sumi

Hey everyone!
I just signed up, I was brought over here by dannyngan (teacher) and scopa (fellow student).

I'm a student at the U of Oregon, just finished 3D Imaging, will be starting 3D animation production next term- so be prepared for lots of questions!

I would like some feedback on the project I just turned in.
I still consider it a work in progress, but I'm happy with what the class was shown.

a sequence of stills can be found at:
https://gladstone.uoregon.edu/~rcarve...umi/start.html

just click on the images to continue.

Things I will be adding/ changing:
I will be adding a hanging lamp in the japanese room, and probably developing the whole room a little further.

At the initial design stage, the monk was not a central character, so I did not spend much time building him, and it shows- this will be the longest stage of revision, but he needs to be completely re-designed and modelled.

The temple needs to be retextured, and a little more time needs to be spent integrating it into the scene.

The final scene needs a few more frames.

This is a fully animated piece, but for now I only have stills uploaded.

Thanks!
Robbie

where's the button that makes this look
good?

Last edited by rcarver; 14-03-2004 at 05:51 PM.
# 2 12-03-2004 , 06:36 PM
hey I like it! I like the NPR style on the garden section. It's an interesting blend of colours.

Some of the things in the room bug me a little though. I can see some dodgy procedural textures on your painting's border for example. I would texture map that to keep it like the rest of the piece. The kettle looks a little squashed as well.