Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-04-2004, 01:46 AM   #1
Brian820
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Particle Initial State in MEL

Hey guys,

Trying to work with particles in MEL and I'm not sure the correct way to get my particles to the state I want to save as initial.

Here's what I want to do,

1) Create emitter/particles
2) Play for 50 frames
3) Save Particle Initial State
4) Delete Emitter

I'm golden for steps 1 and 3, and I figure step 4 shouldn't be too bad - I'm just not sure how to play my animation for 50 frames before setting the initial state. If I use currentTime 50, that gets me to frame 50 of course, but my particles have not moved as I never actually played through those frames.

Is there a flag/command I can use when creating the particles, something like setInitialAge(50 frames)?

I can see how it would be possible to overcome this by using playbackOptions to set the time slider from 0-50, but for usability I'd prefer my script not need to mess with the user's time slider. Unless there's a way to save and then revert back to the user's previous time slider settings?

There must be an easier way to do this.
Any help?
Brian820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2004, 01:53 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Lookup the command called "runup" in the docs...

Quote:
"runup plays the scene through a frame of frames, forcing dynamic objects to evaluate as it does so."
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MEL headache! happymat27 Members Lounge 5 05-12-2010 09:43 AM
MEL headache!! happymat27 Mel Scripts & Programming 1 03-12-2010 04:41 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.