Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-05-2004, 04:27 PM   #1
alexkemp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya6

Is Maya 6 unlimited available for the Mac?

Last edited by alexkemp : 06-05-2004 at 06:59 PM.
alexkemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 10:55 PM   #2
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Unlimited isn't avalable on the Mac, regardless of version. 6.0 Complete should be through.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....

Last edited by doodle : 18-05-2004 at 10:23 PM.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2004, 10:51 AM   #3
pixelmonk
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by z1mmnd14
Unlimited is avalable on the Mac, regardless of version. 6.0 Complete should be through.
Actually, I thought Unlimited wasn't built for the Mac UNTIL v 6.0. That was one big issue the Macweenies had for a while.
__________________
You can teach to ignorance, but you have to slap out stupidity.
pixelmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2004, 10:26 AM   #4
Forum_snowboarder33
Registered User
 
Forum_snowboarder33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no maya 6, just checked there site.... i wanted fur and fluid effects
__________________
-- Why is it snowing rain --
AIM: SnowboarderCF
Forum_snowboarder33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2004, 02:44 PM   #5
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hey guys, Maya Unlimited is not on the Mac.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2004, 02:47 PM   #6
DrRobotnik
Registered User
 
DrRobotnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It seems strange that is isn't available, there should be enough demand for it. Does anyone know why?
DrRobotnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2004, 03:17 PM   #7
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I don't know but we might see it in version 7 now that big studios like pixar are dumping SGI systems for G5 Powermacs.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2004, 06:02 PM   #8
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ckyuk
I don't know but we might see it in version 7 now that big studios like pixar are dumping SGI systems for G5 Powermacs.
Whhhaaat? why whould they do that?

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2004, 06:49 PM   #9
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Money. I haven't checked the rumor myself yet, but i'm told pixar are making the move from SGI to G5s. It sort of makes sense i suppose when you look at the price of SGI workstations and then think that pixar would get G5s at cost price anyway.

Last edited by ckyuk : 22-05-2004 at 06:53 PM.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 07:31 PM   #10
Mantat
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Eh.. maybe because Steve Jobs is the CEO of both company? ;-)
Also the G5 / X Serve Raid have the best cost/ perf one can get for server.

Mac have a very bad reputation about their pricing which is totaly erroneous since the coming of the G5. MY friend is starting a web hosting company and he didnt beleive me until I did the price comparison in front of him that G5 servers are cheaper than their Dell equivalent, yet more powerfull... Now, if they could do such an aggressive pricing for the workstation products...
Mantat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.