Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-09-2004, 05:24 AM   #1
TychoCelchuuu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering Polygonal Models

I do low polygon models for games. I want to render them flatshaded (so that they are not automatically smoothed), but I'm not quite sure how to do it. For an example of the effect I want to achieve, see http://members.lycos.co.uk/rabbiteh/pictars/sp1/saru_render4.jpg picture. That was done in Milkshape 3d I believe, but it's the effect I'm going for, where you can see the individual faces very well. I played around with vector render for literally 5 minutes but all I got was a gray box. I think I messed up a setting or two
__________________
I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.
-Bilbo Baggins
TychoCelchuuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2004, 08:58 AM   #2
3Demon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 264
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

that just has a basic texture applied to the model....something like a lambert with nothing changed, and then rendered with GI or Final Gather or some similar setup.
3Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2004, 03:44 AM   #3
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I think you mean the normals. Goto edit polygons>Normals> SoftenHarden, Highlight all your edges and hit all hard, then hit apply. That shoudl be what your looking for.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2004, 04:08 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yep, adjust the soften/harden edges like you want. Should work for you.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.