Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-11-2004, 10:00 PM   #16
sainttm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lincoln, England
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ckyuk,

Yeah thats the logo.

sorry to be a pain but im still having some trouble with the clinder/circle positioning and merging. i do the clinder so that its the size i want and get the angle as best i can and then select the circle and clinder and do Polygons>Booleans>Intersection but the clinder then shapes sometimes and others goes a wierd angle that i didnt want and then the move option is near the centre when the clinder is way off centre.

I have not got a real clue on the basics of maya/3d modeling yet so I do applogise for being a pain in the bum.

Also when you have done the clinders how do you attach them to the circle? Do you make a new circle and then postion them to it? Im using maya ple on the mac and holding x didnt seem to do anything.

sorry again
Shane
__________________
**************************
AMD 3.2Ghz XP
1Gb PC400 3200 RAM
ATi Radeon 256Mb XT
320Gb (2x160Gb) SATA RAID HDD
sainttm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 09:26 AM   #17
Billy_Cat
Registered User
 
Billy_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you want to do a bouleans difference not intercection.. if you want to orient the move tool correctly, you can go to Modify>Center Pivot.. or press insert and move the tool manually..

create a new circle, and place the cylinder sphere thing so that it is lined up on the edge of the sphere.. no attaching is required.. x will allow you to move things so that it moves on the graph and is easier to line things up.. you need to hold down x while you do it.. not just press it..
Billy_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 02:34 PM   #18
sainttm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lincoln, England
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

heres what ive got.

[IMG]wip.jpg[/IMG]

i cant seem to work out how to make the objects different colours, and ive not even tried the animation side yet.

Shane
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
**************************
AMD 3.2Ghz XP
1Gb PC400 3200 RAM
ATi Radeon 256Mb XT
320Gb (2x160Gb) SATA RAID HDD
sainttm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 05:49 PM   #19
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Originally posted by sainttm
i cant seem to work out how to make the objects different colours
You'll need to assign new materials to each one. Do this by holding the "space bar" to bring up the main marking menu, then click "lighting/shading > assign new material > Blinn ". Then click the grey box by colour and pick the one you want.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 09:31 PM   #20
sainttm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lincoln, England
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks ckyuk and billy cat,

you guys have been a great help and I now have this to show for it.

Just wondering, how do I animate it then - so, so, so sorry to keep being a pain.

Shane
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
**************************
AMD 3.2Ghz XP
1Gb PC400 3200 RAM
ATi Radeon 256Mb XT
320Gb (2x160Gb) SATA RAID HDD
sainttm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 02:34 PM   #21
deathwish
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 170
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AGHHHHHHHHHH!!!! I WORK FOR BT - ITS EVERYWHERE!!!!!
deathwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 03:19 PM   #22
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Originally posted by sainttm
Just wondering, how do I animate it then - so, so, so sorry to keep being a pain.
There probably are much better ways to animate it but what i did was:

Make sure all of the pivots (move handle) are in the centre. Do this by pressing insert to move it.

set the timeline with a range of about 1 - 34.

Make sure your running at 24fps. Window > Settings/Preferences > Preferences, then click on settings.

Set a key for all your discs at frame 1 (press s) then move to frame 34 and rotate them 359 degrees so they are almost back where they started. Set another key.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stepping effect in fluid gubar Dynamics & Special Effects 2 03-12-2010 10:42 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.