Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-01-2005, 02:13 AM   #1
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Translfer UV Sets

Hello everybody,


I'm going crazy here

I'll explain my problem with one example:

Let's say I have a blinn material (or whatever) then I map a fractal texture on the color node and a bulge texture as a bump map. When I go to the UV map editor I can easily see the fractal image in the background. But then, how can I see the bulge image so I can manipulate the UVs for the bump map independently of the fractal texture? (I've tried with different UV sets for each texture but nothing happens, I only see the fractal texture)



after 3 days of headaches I've figured out a solution (althought it's not a very elegant one):

1- I duplicate the mesh once it's ready for texturing.
2- I map a texture into the color channel of the original mesh and create a UV set for it.
3- before mapping a second texture into the bump map channel (wich I never see on the UV texture editor) I map it into the color channel of the duplicated mesh an create a new UV set for it (now I can see the texture image on the UV editor and adjust the UVs)
4- Once I've finished adjusting the UVs on the duplicated mesh I use Polygons>Transfer UV sets to the original mesh.
5- Finally I go to the relationship editor, I select the original mesh and connect the trasferred set (from the duplicated mesh) to the bump map (or to any other I want).

So, if someone knows a better solution, I'd really appreciate any suggestions

Best

Eduardo
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 03:59 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I'd have probably done the same.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 10:31 AM   #3
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Would this work? Use the alpha channel as your bump source. The UV editor allows switches from RGB to alpha image view.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 11:57 AM   #4
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help guys

I'll try what you suggest mhcannon,

regards


Eduardo
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 10:26 PM   #5
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb another solution

Hi again,

Reading "Maya Help" carefully I found this:

I quote:

"Choose a texture to display (if more than one texture is applied to the mesh).


In the texture editor, select the texture you want to work on from the Image > Selected Images sub-menu.

When you are in component selection mode, the Image > Selected Images sub-menu lists shading groups assigned to the selected components.

In object selection mode, the sub-menu lists all shading groups assigned to the entire mesh.


It seems that's the solution,


Now the newbie question

HOW DO I ASSIGN DIFFERENT SHADING GROUPS TO THE SAME MESH?? IS THIS A GOOD WAY TO PROCEED?

Maybe mtmckingley or mhcannon could help again

Best


Eduardo
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 10:29 PM   #6
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I haven't tried it for the same purpose you are. I have assigned different shader/textures to different faces of a single mesh. I did this only so that I could have a greater level of detail in each set of faces. It seems to work okay, but I'm no pro.... yet.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 10:38 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yes, I'd imagine that means assigning different materials to different faces and displaying the textures mapped to these different materials.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 11:48 PM   #8
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default well...

thanks a lot

I first thought there was a problem with my computer or my card, but now I realize it's just something Maya can't do...

see ya

Eduardo
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2005, 12:45 AM   #9
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

To amplify this... If the mess has different shaders different faces, the UV editor will display the shader for the face selected. If multiple faces are selected that have different faces, than the UV editor seems to defalt to the first face that was select in the set of faces. If the object as a whole is selectec the UV editor will display the first shader that was assigned to it. So, to change images in the UV editor with this method was just be a matter of select different faces. Why do I feel like I'm writing in an alien language? Does this make ANY sense?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2005, 11:17 PM   #10
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

HOW DO I ASSIGN DIFFERENT SHADING GROUPS TO THE SAME MESH?? IS THIS A GOOD WAY TO PROCEED?
Just to throw in another possible way that you can do this, while keeping a relatively simple node network in the hypershade, you can use ID maps. I've only done this whilst having 2 different materials on one object, but it means you have 1 object with 1 UV map (therefore 1 texture map), but by using and ID map you can assign different types of shaders to the same object.

e.g, say you have an object of a bottle with 1 UV map. You have made a texture map for the bottle, and you want the label to be a lambert, whilst the glass part of the bottle is a phong. You can simply make these 2 different materials with the same texture map applied, then using an ID map (a black and white mask, with black being where you want one material to show, and white being the other material) you can blend between the 2 materials using a blend utility node.

If anyones interested in this technique, let me know and I'll draw up a diagram of how it works. I find it a very neat way of doing this. Sometimes its easiest just to select faces, but for most of the time the different parts of your textures will not fit neatly onto where you can just select faces and apply them.

LisaG

p.s, this is an especially useful way if you use mental ray, as MR can have problems with Maya's layered shaders.
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2005, 01:58 AM   #11
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Lisa!!, and, yes, a diagram would be really cool...

Bye :p

Ed.
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2005, 12:20 PM   #12
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Ok, here's my really quick explanation of how to use ID maps to blend between different materials on an object. You would create each different material (I've only done 2 so far on an object, I'm sure you could do it for more though), so say a lambert and a blinn, and attach the colour map to each one. Then, you would use an ID map to specify where you want the lambert material to show through, and where you want the blinn. You use a blend utility node to blend between the 2 materials, using the ID map as the blender, and then plug the result into a layered shader, which you apply to your object.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2005, 12:40 AM   #13
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

very clever Lisa!. Just one question, how do you attach the blendColors node to the layered shader (final material)?
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2005, 02:31 AM   #14
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry for posting twice in a row, but I've found a thread that could be useful:

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17422
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2005, 11:51 AM   #15
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hi.

Yes, thats great, that thread shows the same thing, I just call my blending map an ID map.

To connect the blend utility to the layered shader, open up the attribute editor for the layered shader, and simply MMB drag the blend node onto where it says colour for the layered shader, and it will attach.

The problem with using layered shaders like you would normally for layering textures is that Mental Ray sometimes can have a hard time with them, but it seems to work fine if you use the mix map method.

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.