Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 11-04-2005 , 10:02 AM

head model(angelina jolie)

hi!

im a maya beginner, with painting experience. So i looove texturing, can't wait to start texturing her face.

i modeled in nurbs, then chaged to poly, then to sub-d, and refined nostrils and lips. polycount is about 730.

her ears are totally retarded, so i think i'll try to cover it up w/ hair. so sick of trying to fix the ears...

i read bunch of tutorials on hair, it seems like people go:

1) poly faces w/ hair texture using alpha-channel like how Mike did straws on scare crow.

2) using curves and control curve and paint effects

3) using nurbs surfaces and paint effects

could anyone give me pro's and con's of these methods?

also, if anyone is kind enough to give me good reflection/specularity/ and other stuff settings for skin and eyeballs, i'd appreciate it.

i modeled using angelina jolie as image plane.

plz give me feed back on what to fix. i got help from mhcannondmc through the head.

user added image

btw, i haven't touched the neck.. i only put it because it looked too scary w/o the neck

Last edited by bubbleme80; 11-04-2005 at 11:59 AM.
# 2 15-04-2005 , 11:02 AM
hi friend - the head looks very good.