Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-05-2005, 05:27 PM   #136
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

The textures could definitely add to the size of the file. I think 51mb is pretty reasonable for what you got there. Nice modeling btw. The texture could use a some tlc to create a bit more realism (at least that's my opinion).

I may have missed this somewhere, but what are you going to do with all this stage world models/scenes?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 05:39 PM   #137
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey guys.

Yeah i'm thinking its the texture to with are 1024 x 1024, but I need to redo the textures anyways, as they are mostly place holders, just so I know what the scene will look like in the final render

mhcannon,

You think 51mb is pretty reasonable for the scene I have? Ok, well then thats good to hear, now I don't have to drive myself crazy trying to figure it out :bow:

tlc, whats that? I plan on redoing the textures anyways

Well i'm mostly making this scene to improve my rendering lighting as well as modeling skills. So my goal for the scene at this point is to make a kick@ss scene, So I can create a kick@ss render using mental ray, which I just stated using about 3 months ago, and I love it!!

Vedic
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391

Last edited by vedic kings : 26-05-2005 at 05:42 PM.
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 10:27 PM   #138
Dragonhawk
Registered User
 
Dragonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 457
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

"when I go to file> Optimize scene size, and ckeck everything on the list to be Optimize,"


can u explain me what this does?never used it....
Dragonhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 11:12 PM   #139
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well from what I understand about it, is that whatever you click on in the list of things to be Optimize, it removes all that is not needed etc. Its like a clean up.

Ok, I just looked in the help file (F1) and it says:

Allows you to remove empty, invalid, or unused parts from the scene to reduce its size and complexity.
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2005, 04:16 PM   #140
Dragonhawk
Registered User
 
Dragonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 457
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thx a lot for that info...but your size is still 50mb?hmm ask other guys if thats approriate.
Dragonhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2005, 06:10 PM   #141
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mhcannon thinks it approriate for the kind of scene I have setup. But yeah does anyone else think so?
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2005, 01:10 PM   #142
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep, I think so.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2005, 07:21 PM   #143
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, good problem solve
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 05:44 AM   #144
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey guys

Well, I've been playing around with mental ray more. I was going to use tomcat cartoon shader for part of my scene, But I found that tomcat doesn't work with mental ray, and tomcat was not giving me what I really wanted Or I'm just not doing it right. Anyways I find out that mental ray can do a cartoon look to, more so give you objects an outline. So this was great I could use mr and get a toon look

Anyway take a look at a render I did in mental ray.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 05:48 AM   #145
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here are two test I did. One tomcat and the other mental ray.

As you can see tomcat will have lines go through the objects that are in front, its a cool style, but its not what I want for my scene, but I could use it for other stuff

First tomcat:
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 05:51 AM   #146
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So what do you guys think about this? What I really want to get, is a Cel (cel-shader) look. Do you think I can do it in mentay ray, or do you think I can do the same in tomcat?

mental ray
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 02:47 PM   #147
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

My opinion would be to keep it realistic

But, between the two, you should use Tomcat. By the way, could you post the MR settings for that look?

Cheers,
,Matt
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 05:57 PM   #148
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

MTM,

I'm going to use a mix of the two, which is a real and toon look. Well I'll post what I mean later today.

As far as the mental ray setup for this kind of look, which is an out line, would take way to long to post, but I learned of this because I was unable to render tomcat in mental ray, or i'm doing this all wrong? Can I render tomcat in mental ray?

Anyways I found this thread at CGtalk, check it out if you want to know how to do the toon look in mental ray, with no plugins nothing its all in mental ray!

Go down to the bottom of page.

Link http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php...2&page=1&pp=15
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 10:00 PM   #149
Dragonhawk
Registered User
 
Dragonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 457
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

well i hear tomcat the first time in this thread....so i cant be much of help....sry
Dragonhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 10:41 PM   #150
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dragonhawk,

Thanks for trying

Well i'm happy with what mental ray can do as far as the cel toon look.

This is more what I have in mind, as for the style, this is just a test render. This is what I mean by real and toon mix

Tell me what you think guys. These are 100% mental ray renders using maya & mental ray shaders.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391

Last edited by vedic kings : 29-05-2005 at 10:49 PM.
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.