Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-02-2006, 02:09 PM   #1
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Image plains

Hi, I was trying the Image Plain tutorial on this site, the one with the dragon, but when I add the lambert with the dragon-picture to the plain, I still can't see the dragon, only in the Render View. Is there a way to see the dragon on the plain in the working area too?
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 02:12 PM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

press 6 on the keyboard should do it
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 02:23 PM   #3
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, thanks! But it has somehow cut the image like you see in the picture I attached. Any idea what I've done wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
 
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 02:26 PM   #4
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Ok, when you go to my documents - Maya - etc...

At one point you will find a file called Maya.env.
Open that file up with notepad or something, and it should be empty if you have not done this before. Now, copy/paste this into that blank file

MAYA_NON_POWER_TWO_OFF = 1;

That should fix it.
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 02:37 PM   #5
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, that worked! Thank you.
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 01:06 PM   #6
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, and one more thing about image planes: How do I make the images on the planes not disappear when I'm in wireframe mode? And lock them so I don't select them when I'm modelling?
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 01:47 PM   #7
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

you can't...
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 03:22 PM   #8
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Really? But how do I model in wireframe-mode with a picture to follow in the background? I've seen images of that in tutorials, but never seen an explanation on how they do it...
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 03:19 AM   #9
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

To model in wireframe and still see a reference image, instead of assigning the image to a polygon plane (I think that this is what you have done), you would need to import the image so that you can see it through the relevant camera.

So, go to your viewport menu and select Image plane>Import image. It is a good idea to set the window to default view before doing this.

Not sure if I understood your question correctly, but I hope that this helps.
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 06:11 PM   #10
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by arran
To model in wireframe and still see a reference image, instead of assigning the image to a polygon plane (I think that this is what you have done), you would need to import the image so that you can see it through the relevant camera.

So, go to your viewport menu and select Image plane>Import image. It is a good idea to set the window to default view before doing this.

Not sure if I understood your question correctly, but I hope that this helps.
Yeah, it did, thank you

But I still have a problem with getting the picture in the right size. I've resized them in Photoshop first, and the front camera picture and side view camera picture is just the same height. still the front camera image is much bigger. I've tried to scaling it, but that's difficult and takes alot of time. How do I import them in their right size?
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:57 PM   #11
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I think that you can resize the image plane in the channel box. (Go to image plane>image attributes... I think). If your front and side images are the correct size before bringing them into Maya, make sure that you click default size in the viewport menu before importing.
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Mec Celeste - Original SM Gallery Image by Diego Ruiz Diaz Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 22-12-2010 05:58 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.