Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-11-2002, 02:11 AM   #1
laz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: la
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 4 or 4.5?

Just aquired Maya 4 and have never explored the 3D world. is Maya 4 the way to go? I've been hearing of Maya 4.5. Should I start there or stick with 4? I'd hate to waste time on an older version in my early stages. is there even a significant change?

ps. I'm going crazy trying to learn Maya.
__________________
the day we stop thinking is the day we start sinking
laz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2002, 08:35 AM   #2
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

4 is awesome, but if you are going to get any then the fluids are well worth the cash!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2002, 07:38 PM   #3
laz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: la
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

get any fluids?
__________________
the day we stop thinking is the day we start sinking
laz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2002, 07:47 PM   #4
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by laz
get any fluids?
As in Maya 4.5 Fluid Effects
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2002, 12:25 AM   #5
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have seen a live demo of fluids at a maya seminar and WOW if you can afford 4.5 unlimited go for it.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2002, 01:04 AM   #6
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Well it'd be nice to have 4.5 but the last thing i need is another distraction to me learning, name fluids. I have enough to contend with. Anyhow, to those with Maya 4.5, how hardware intensive are fluids. I magine them to be very intensive. Saw the animation on their website of a really rough sea. Anyone tried to render something similar? Curious to see how long a render like that took.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2002, 01:54 AM   #7
laz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: la
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok. just finished working through the dog tut (while at work) and managed to get a mangled dog figure out of it (progress). Man this stuff is hard. I was bustin' a brain cell figuring it out. Is the stuff in the VIP section harder than the free tuts? I'm still working up the courage to use my new credit card on-line (my only one). I have a pretty extensive background on Photoshop so I though I would try my hand at MAYA. Man they are nothing alike. There's like a million different things you have to learn before you can mutate. I have seen positive results in my efforts (no matter how elementary they may seem so (boss is coming. gots to go)
__________________
the day we stop thinking is the day we start sinking
laz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 11:26 AM   #8
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Sorry not related to the topic...
I dont get it... Fluids... is is the ability to simulate water... 4 can do it right???...
thinking of getting 4.5 anyway..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 11:31 AM   #9
mumbojumbo_13
Subscriber
 
mumbojumbo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

is the fluid effects only in unlimited ?
whats the diff. between unlimted and complete ?
__________________
Thanks for wasting your time reading this line.
mumbojumbo_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 11:33 AM   #10
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no, 4 can't do fluids.. you might be able to do your own custom ones but it'll be very hard...

4.5's fluids are awsome... I love them!.. still playing around with them

I found this sample video at A|Ws site of a fluid effect... so I got the AVI, converted it into SWF file.. sized it down, and exported it into GIF... but it's still 500KBs so I can't have it as an Avatar

even if Kevin was kind enough to upload it from the AdminCP, it'll be still slowing down the 56K-ers here....
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 11:34 AM   #11
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I might as well just post it... :banana:
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 11:37 AM   #12
mumbojumbo_13
Subscriber
 
mumbojumbo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

kool looks sort of like a runny lava lamp
__________________
Thanks for wasting your time reading this line.
mumbojumbo_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 11:49 AM   #13
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well if you look really closely, you'll see in the beginning a running thing at the top going left and right letting the red stuff .... then they used some kinda gravity effect to pull it down and I'm guessing they used the 2D Fluid Container...

hmmm..maybe I'll try to re-create this...::Starts up Maya::

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.