Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-04-2007, 04:08 AM   #1
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default XP woes.

hello - i was wondering if anyone can help. basically when I turn on my laptop it keeps going to the screen where it says windows has failed to start successfully and if i try to start using safe mode, or last known good configuration, or any of the other options, it keeps coming back to that screen.

I spoke to a tech guy from the company I bought it from and after we tried starting it up by alternating the memory cards, he suggested I use the windows xp disc to conduct a repair.

What I am wondering is that if i do a repair using the XP disc is it likely that I will lose my unsaved work whether it works or doesn't?

I know, I know, I should regularly save my work and I do, but the last time was a couple of months ago and I could lose a ton of stuff. This is the second problem i have had with this laptop and I am wondering if I should just send it back to them again rather than risk the xp repair option.

if it's not blatantly apparent I am a total noob when it comes to anything to do with computers, calculators, pretty much anything with buttons. :shakehead

Any advice would be much appreciated.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2007, 04:17 AM   #2
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i had this a few weeks ago
i fixed it myself
if u do a repair u can pull all the data onto a external meory but u will lose all ur program links and will need to reinstall

however u can fix this 2 ways
norton have a disc u can by that has a recovery console so u can do it without losing data

2 a little bit of comp fiddling - insert xp disk and u should get the option to log on (cant remem if u go to repair first) it will look like cmd screen (black with white writing)
type in help
there are a few scans to do which can find the corrupt or missing file ect.
u need to replace it with the one on hte disk
then log off and reboot with out the disk
should work fine

that may be a little too complex and a vague explanation but it can be done with out causing any damage no lost files or program links
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2007, 04:33 AM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks pbman - i think i get what you're saying - i'll take a look at it when I get home from work.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2007, 04:40 AM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

a couple of stupid questions though...

If I can't get to my start page, how do I move the data to an external memory and also...

can I use my other pc as an external memory?

thanks!
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2007, 06:28 AM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

another update - just tried to start it again and this time a blue screen came up saying that the problem was 'Unmountable Boot Volume'.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2007, 06:54 AM   #6
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

u should be able to fix but im no expert

u haveto do in mannly and go to the directory teel it the code to copy and where to

also an idea just came to menot sure if it will work though
get a free linux op system on the net. burn the .iso file to disk as an image (read on the sie where u get it to find more) and boot up on that then u should have access to all ur files except for encrypted ones to copy over in a way that is very user friendly

or u can take the HD out plug it into another comp - take ownership and take all ur files off onto that comp and may even be able to fix the problem there as well
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2007, 07:11 AM   #7
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

ok thanks mate - will give it a shot when I get home tonight.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2007, 03:03 PM   #8
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

just incase arran since you might be abit fraid from losing all your things, burn them onto a dvd with the things you really need such as MAYA that way if you do loose anything, youved got it back again :p

marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 02:36 PM   #9
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

kinda got bored reading through all this nonsense... so i didn't bother, sorry. if you're having problems getting into windows as it is, then i would recommend getting another laptop hard drive. they're relatively cheap nowadays, and if you have the ability to connect more than one, then you should be able to install your operating system onto the primary drive, then leech off of your secondary drive, as you don't need to run windows (or OS) off of it anymore. any secondary drive should show up as independent, and you SHOULD be able to navigate it like any hard drive and find the files you wanna save. if you were hit with a virus or the like, then the recommended solution would be to run your anti-virus program on the infected drive, and THEN try to copy whatever files you need from it - then reformat that drive.

IF you happened to be running windows and also saving your files to the same hard drive, you should be able to recover your lost files by just adding the hard drive that has your data as a secondary (or even tertiary) drive and just cutting or copying your data (assuming it's still intact) to your new drive or to a new partition.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 04:33 PM   #10
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks for your help neostrider A friend is going to lend me his USB drive with XP installed on it and I'm going to try to transfer the files to it and then to my main pc. hopefully that will work.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 09:05 PM   #11
the_brein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: commonwealth of los angeles
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive repaired windows several times and your data is usually saved. i only experienced problems once out of 5 times. so instead of re installing, do the repair and chances are that your data will be safe. you'll need to reinstall drivers and stuff like that though.
the_brein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2007, 12:46 AM   #12
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, the safest bet is to fire up your hard drive on another machine (or via your mates usb thingy).
You should then be able to get everything you need before formatting or sending back the drive.
I often back up to zipstick AND DVD and sometimes to an external hard drive I've got (very handy for things like this) as windows is never failsafe

Hope you get it sorted arran, I find it more frustrating having to get the system back to a usable state afterwards (usually a half day job installing, updating, securing etc).
Si
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2007, 12:54 AM   #13
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Its a right pain when stuff like that happens. Like everyone suggested your best off trying to get the data off the HDD then just doing a complete reinstall.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2007, 03:32 PM   #14
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks a lot guys - think i'm going to wait until i can borrow my friends drive before using the xp disc - i'm sure it will be fine, but knowing me I'll probably do something wrong. i must admit I feel like a real dumbass not backing up my work - especially as the same thing happened a couple of months ago - definitely think it's time to invest in an external drive.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2007, 02:44 PM   #15
Dutch
Registered User
 
Dutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The repair option should not cause any damage to data that is intact on the drive. If the data is already damaged then you have little hope of recovering it anyway. No point in reinstalling XP if you can repair the original installation.

To repair:
Boot from the CD
Select repair at the first screen
Select repair console

In the repair console (essentially a DOS prompt)
You may have to select the windows installation
You may have to enter a username and password
Once at the prompt you want to type the following:
chkdsk /r

This will run a check of the files on your system as well as the indexes. Depending on the size of the drive this will take some time (I've had it go up to 3 hours) and could look like it is stuck for much of the time. Once it is finished try rebooting the computer.

If it still doesn't boot, I recommend either getting another drive, installing windows and using the old drive as a secondary or getting the data off the original drive and then reinstalling windows. A handy tool I use occasionally at work is the Ultimate Boot CD
Dutch is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.