Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 22-06-2007 , 05:33 PM
Subscriber

man versus beast

hello,
I finished another animation that I'm gonna try to send to festivals. I've never done that before but after doing about 2 dozen of these animations I thought I'd try it out and see how it goes. anybody here have any experience on those film festivals would be interesting to know. I quickly searched online and the kalamazoo or the ottawa festivals seem pretty interesting to submit too.

anyways, hope you guys like it:

https://youtube.com/watch?v=c3aVhmBR6N4

I used maya for only one shot in the end. and you might wanna fullscreen it might be hard to read the words in the begining of the story.

comments +crits appreciated.
thanks

-Danuser added image

Last edited by danotronXX; 23-06-2007 at 07:17 AM.
# 2 22-06-2007 , 07:48 PM
Hey Man

Looked good, enjoyed it. bit of crit though.

For me there should have been some emotional interplay before he fights the beast, its almost like he's crying because he's killed an animal, not his beloved pet. Also I feel that there should have been more with the deamon that curses the wolf (as he's the bad guy really)

Also you've got the guy having a spritual attachment to the animals (as they help him out traveling) but theres no interplay with that before he leaps off a cliff and gets carried by the eagle which is a bit confusing.

I think that adding a few scenes to what youve got to bring more to the story and fill the gaps would realy lift the whole animation.

"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 3 23-06-2007 , 07:15 AM
Subscriber
yea good points.