Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-09-2007, 12:45 PM   #1
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default Viewport Glitches (Graphics card prob?)

Hi all,
I have recently purchased a new Nvidia Geforce 8600 GTS but it seems to have been causing problems with the veiwports in maya. I am running V8.0 and whenever i start working on a complicated model or start to navigate around the veiwports they start to glitch.
They flicker and begin to display images from a random view and can even show information that i have just exited out of (Edges or Verts when i have not activated them)
My Drivers are up to date and i have tried reinstalling them.

Help is appreciated
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 06:32 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Have a look on CGtalk theres a thread on glitches and those cards as well as some fixes in the maya section
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 08:38 PM   #3
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Ehh? i hope its not the graphics card, as i was planning to get that one... lol!

Found out the problem yet?
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 10:09 PM   #4
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

nah not yet, I'd recommend just to pay a little bit extra for an 8800, This one is fine but it seems to have a few problems with some 3d aps and games.
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 10:14 PM   #5
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Yeah deciding weather to pay abit more or go for the new radeon hd.

Have a look at this if you havnt so far, says about the nvidia 8 series has problems etc etc.

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthre...light=glitches
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2007, 08:23 AM   #6
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I worked out the problem (I think) It has something to do with AA so i need to set that up to around 4x to get tit to work properly.
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2014, 03:46 PM   #7
lilnyc
Subscriber
 
lilnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm having the same problem. What is AA?
__________________
Lil
lilnyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2014, 05:45 PM   #8
thewrongvine
Trying
 
thewrongvine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by lilnyc View Post
I'm having the same problem. What is AA?
Well that was quite a spam bump, but in response to you, AA is referring to anti-aliasing. Can read all about it here: http://help.chaosgroup.com/vray/help...ge_sampler.htm
thewrongvine is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.