Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-01-2008, 06:29 AM   #61
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

i really like them all (and my brother really likes the transformers one), But i think in the future, the "dark" studio shot should have the fog lights on too for added definition.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 07:04 AM   #62
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

@Gster123: I think I will try the Render layers. Maybe I could composite them In after, In Photoshop! Thanks you for the Input, Oh, and (like Mirec03 asked) how do you Render in the command line?

@Mirec03: Thanks for the Input. I Think I will try the layers, and/or compositing the individual Renders In Photoshop.
Thanks again!


@twisteddragon33: Hmmm, maybe I will turn on the fog lights! Sounds cool! And thanks for the comments!
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 01:53 PM   #63
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the headlights are very cool man.

A question what are your render settings for AA?

I`v set mine to min2 max3 cuz i`v seen some AA problems in the image with lower AA settings, rendering at 640 480 taking me 20 hours to render.

So was wondering what you`ve got on AA
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 03:06 PM   #64
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

This probably has the best explanation for you

http://www.jawa9000.com/Technical/ba...-rendering.htm

also if you want to see all the renderflags open a cmd shell and then type render -h and hit enter for a full list of options.

Also you can set up the render globals for the scene then save it, open the folder contianing it and right click and choose render to render the scene.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 11:56 PM   #65
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

@AikoWorld: I set the 'sample Mode' To 'Custom Sampling'
I then set the 'Min sample level' to 2 and the 'Max' to 3.
Then I set the 'Multi-pixel filtering', filter, to: 'Mitchel'
Then that should do it. Though having the settings so high.... adds LOADS of time to Render!

@gster123: Ah, thanks you! That sure did clear up a few things for me. Though, this method appears to be used mostly for animation, and/or rendering multiple scenes, But it should work just as well for what I need. I can simply set the start frame to [1] and the end frame to [1]

Thanks again! You've been a great help!
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 12:15 AM   #66
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If your getting memory probs rendering then its worth looking into as it saves RAM per part of your rendering, and it will save you a lot of time if your trying to do a "single shot" render, I use it to get the layers to comp final renders.

Its not strictly for animation or multiple scenes, although if you set everyting up right you will have multiple scenes for different parts of the render for which it will work perfectly!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 12:27 AM   #67
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks Mayaniac and gster

Will test it out!
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 12:39 AM   #68
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I`v set mine to min2 max3 cuz i`v seen some AA problems in the image with lower AA settings, rendering at 640 480 taking me 20 hours to render.
I find this incredible , i just did a 1024x800 render of my car using AA of 2 and 3 and the time was 5 minutes 6 seconds.
What render settings do you have to make the time so rediculously high?
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 12:45 AM   #69
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

rez 640*480*
Highest preset settings
aa -2 +3
Final Gather
environment HDRI Lighting
No raytrace but shadowmaps
But i did have real chrome

so if somebody knows what did it

Btw switching the AA back to -1 +2 did the rendering of 1680*1050* in 40min

So for me it was the aa
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 12:51 AM   #70
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

My guess is that it's the final gather that is killing your render time.
you could render an occlusion pass and comp it instead of FG.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 12:54 AM   #71
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

k thx man, will try that
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 09:32 AM   #72
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Mayaniac, i'm so exciting about your project. that's wonderful and wooo

lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2008, 12:42 PM   #73
mcarr1973
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DUDE You are GOOD!

DUDE YOU ARE GOOD!

Do you mind if I ask how you create a WIP?

I dont even know what WIP stands for? but I know its a way to post your work. I thought of enetering one of these contests not that im anywhere as good as you.

I dont even know how to take a screen shot picture in maya like you did, Can you help?

Thanks,
Michael
mcarr1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2008, 02:29 PM   #74
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@mcarr1973-er, how about reading the stickies posted on every forum?

@mayaniac- The car looks great mate.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2008, 04:21 PM   #75
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

hey whats up mayanic, nice model you got there, cool feeling render !

:attn:
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.