Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-02-2008, 05:38 PM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default History still building up when switched off?

Hi,

although I'm modeling with the history tab marked to off, my models are still accumulating history.

What's going on?

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:00 PM   #2
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

hm, idk. but why is it important to switch it off since you can del history? history is quite usefull, and if you have a shortcut on your keyboard - deleting history is really no big deal.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:26 PM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I've built an object, made of several different meshes, and just now I'm going around it, connecting parts, adding loops, merging verts etc and a lot of history is building up. In this case history is not important and it builds up and slows my system down.

It's not a problem to delete the history, but I think it's a fair question to ask why it is still building up when it's switched off.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 01:14 PM   #4
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

you are right. honestly, i dont know why history is still on. sometimes i had problems with saving settings in maya. means i unchecked something and next time i opened the menu again the check was still there. i recognized then that if you have 2 apps running at the same time where both apps save to your local folder (like maya + 3dsmax) - maya cannot save changes, because the folder is kind of write protected. other than that I have no clue.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.