Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-07-2008, 03:24 PM   #1
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default does anyone use a firewall?

i would like to say i dont because they are f****** uselessly annoying

i dont think windows firewall does anything
and zone alarm refuses to let anything through and you can't not let things through

sometimes it comes with the stupid bubble that asks if you want to let it a program though but most of the time it just comes up with a bubble saying it blocked something from accessing the internet

like... www.google.com.... and then it stacks up 500 of these f****** alerts (because it can't breach that number... weird number...)

it never used to be this stupid.... it used to let me use the internet.... but now it doesn't unless its dead

what firewall do you guys use so you can only allow a few programs through and not every f****** address? :rant:
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 03:39 PM   #2
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

narly rant dude:p

i used to use comodo firewall but it got annoying as **** cause im a gamer so the game would start and prcoeed to **** up because the stupid shit pops up asking to let it by... when it blocked half life 2 automatically without even a pop up warning... that's when i snapped:attn:
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 03:41 PM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

nice one!

i would go to the developers and give them a nice swing with my canes, swords, and anything else that i can find that's blunt...:blush:
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 04:11 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

The machine I have that has an internet connection did use Zone Alarm but they were dragging their asses on making a version that was compatible with a 64 bit OS at the time so I switched to Kaspersky and never looked back.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 10:01 PM   #5
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Firewalls you say?

Why my hand-coded (and slightly buggy) Osiris script for Netfilter protects my network (very appropriately named Nethernet*) from the Chaos of the Internets.

If there ever was a good firewall it would be Netfilter. It is 100% customisable and it never slows down a connection (provided that you set up the rules properly). ISPs use it, so it is completely scalable to tens of thousands of simultaneous connections (depending on the power of the computer). The only "bad" thing about it is that you'll need to have either a degree in computer science and networking to be able to figure out how to use it, or you'll need pay $80 for a good book.

For the record, I spent the $80. That book has taught me more about networks than every single IT lesson in high school.

It isn't avaliable for Windows computers though, only for Linux, but it can protect every client on a network if it is installed at a chokepoint such as the router. Speaking of routers, Netfiler can be the router! :bow:


* Osiris is the king of the Netherworld in Ancient Egyptian mythology. Ethernet is the technology my LAN uses. It doesn't take too much effort to figure it out from here.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:36 PM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

I remember Osiris... he got killed by Anubus and all his body parts got tossed around the world, so then his lover Isis went round collecting his pieces, but since he couldn't return to the living world after being killed he remained in the underworld/tatarus/hell whatever you want to call it...


as for the customizable programable firewall.... i'm ashamed to admit that even though i have a Computer Science degree i know naught about anything of what you just said :p
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:54 PM   #7
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
I remember Osiris... he got killed by Anubus and all his body parts got tossed around the world, so then his lover Isis went round collecting his pieces, but since he couldn't return to the living world after being killed he remained in the underworld/tatarus/hell whatever you want to call it...
Hmm... from memory, I think it was Set who killed Osiris and Anubis embalmed (mummified) him. Anyways, I like that rivalry between Osiris and Set - some of the myths tell of Set being the victim of his rather gross tricks.

I should have also mentioned that the firewall script that runs on the clients (Osiris resides on the server) is called Isis.

Originally posted by Chirone
as for the customizable programable firewall.... i'm ashamed to admit that even though i have a Computer Science degree i know naught about anything of what you just said :p
Cool! You've got a computer science degree!

As for Zone Alarm, did you recently install some Windows updates? If so, it just might be possible that this might be the cause.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 12:43 AM   #8
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by The Architect
Hmm... from memory, I think it was Set who killed Osiris and Anubis embalmed (mummified) him. Anyways, I like that rivalry between Osiris and Set - some of the myths tell of Set being the victim of his rather gross tricks.

I should have also mentioned that the firewall script that runs on the clients (Osiris resides on the server) is called Isis.
Ah yes, Set (or Seth is some instances?), i got a little confuzzled there since anubis appears to have a more apperences in media than the others...


Originally posted by The Architect
Cool! You've got a computer science degree!

As for Zone Alarm, did you recently install some Windows updates? If so, it just might be possible that this might be the cause. [/b]
if i remember right i may have allowed for some updates to have been installed...
i have reformatted C: again... stupid Acer...
and it works fine (but i guess it will screw up again if updates should be installed)
silly how windows doesn't keep all the updates when it reformats...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 01:17 AM   #9
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
Ah yes, Set (or Seth is some instances?), i got a little confuzzled there since anubis appears to have a more apperences in media than the others...
It has to do with all those movies about mummies. Set was the god of chaos, deserts and storms. Not nearly as exciting as a three thousand year old mummy lumbering around... imotep! imotep! imotep!*
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 01:29 AM   #10
SilverBlood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I stopped using firewalls when i got a good router... and i just forward the ports i use on my router..... and all other ports are automaticly blocked..... so no more software firewalls.... get a good hardware one
__________________
01001011011101010111011101100101011001010110101101 10010101100101
SilverBlood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 03:00 AM   #11
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Wink Firewalls? what is it anyway?

Oo, ya, I remember now. that useless Po*...
It haven't always been this useless though... I remember a time when I could actually use them... now the internet is ALL full of c*** so it's kind of impossible.
I just rely on a good anti virus to solve my security issues (it even does the job pretty well as long as I don't use IE)
Oo, right, I got a router too not so long ago
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2008, 06:50 AM   #12
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I use comodo without any issues (maybe couple of minor ones early on, but just a matter of setting programs to "allow" so they have access to the net). Get prompted now and again but that's about it.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2008, 06:57 AM   #13
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

zone alarm has given an update to deal with that problem
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.