Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-08-2008, 12:41 PM   #1
Dancing Lobster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duffel, Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need help from a Maya modeler!

Hi all,

I'm new here so I'll first introduce myself. I'm Dancing Lobster (real name is Yanto), I'm a 19 year old boy and I live in Belgium (I speak Dutch).
I have one big hobby, gaming. I'm part of a multigaming clan, we play Call of Duty United Offensice, Call of Duty 2 and Call of Duty 4. As soon as Call of Duty: World at War is released we will also play that part of the CoD series.
I'm also interested in Mapping en Modding for the CoD series, and I'm currently working on a mod for CoD4. For those who don't know what a mod is, please read this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mod_%28computer_gaming%29

Now, my actual question: For this mod I need at least one custom weapon model for now, and maybe more later. These models should be made using Maya autodesk 2008, but I don't wanna learn it myself as it takes too long and I can't find good (free) tutorials
That's why I need the help from a Maya modeler to make the custom weapon models for me
I don't wanna tell what kind of weapon models I need yet, I want to announce this mod as soon as I can import one weapon model ingame.
You don't need the game itself, all you have to do is making the model and sending me the files.
If you want to help me with this, please post it in this topic, send me a PM, send an email (yanto_maes[at]hotmail[dot]com) or add my xfire: yanto148

Also, if you do this your name will be mentioned in the readme file, and I wanna add a servermessage that says "Mod made by Dancing Lobster and ...", so you'll get enough credit for it

Thanks and best regards, Dancing Lobster
__________________
Proud member of the C4F Multigaming clan
Dancing Lobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 12:46 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Basically you want somthing for nothing?

Try telling people what the mod is, then maybe they will be interested enough to join in for the fun of it, that is usually the way with these things.

Oh and a name in a readme for a small mod is not 'payment' .

Gl, Hf
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 01:25 PM   #3
Dancing Lobster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duffel, Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by LauriePriest
Basically you want somthing for nothing?

Try telling people what the mod is, then maybe they will be interested enough to join in for the fun of it, that is usually the way with these things.

Oh and a name in a readme for a small mod is not 'payment' .

Gl, Hf
I don't wanna tell what the mod is yet because it's suposed to be a secret yet .
PM me if you're inetrested and I'll tell you wath kind of mod it's gonna be.

About the payment thing: I know, but I create mods and maps for free (as everyone does for the CoD series), I don't have a lot of money myself. I'm looking for someone that wants to do this for free, who considers modeling as a hobby, not as a job . I also consider modding as a hobby and I would never ask payment for it. Also, I wanna release the script files from the mod so other modders can learn from it and use them. All they have to do is ask my permission, and they may use my scripts for free.
We pay enough money for all kinds of things, let's keep modding and mapping free
Well this is how it goes in the mapping and modding community, it might be different in the 3D modeling community...
I hope you can understand what I mean
__________________
Proud member of the C4F Multigaming clan
Dancing Lobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 01:29 PM   #4
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

I understand but you really cant expect people to take interest with zero information
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 02:42 PM   #5
Dancing Lobster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duffel, Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by LauriePriest
I understand but you really cant expect people to take interest with zero information
Ok I'll give a bit more information: it's gonna be a weapon mod that is based on a weapon sport. The mod wil be one shot one kill or 3 shots one kill (depending on the server settings) and will include an anticamp function and serverside messages
And that's all I wanna tell you :p
__________________
Proud member of the C4F Multigaming clan
Dancing Lobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 03:58 PM   #6
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you mmight be better off going to turbo squid....even tho you have to pay, you might find somthing for cheap....maybe even in their free section.....i mean we doing the modeling yet it says "modeled by 'you' and 'then the modelers name'......well thas a problem right there....if I did the modeling, it should be my credit ONLY not yours and mines......like for instance my skyline..in my portfolio, it says modeled by me, rendered by younglion (im using his real name) but you get the jist.....id never said rendered my eric and younglion because I didn't even touch the redering so by you doing that, you're taking away half the modelers credit........and worse, you want to share it.....there are a lot of ppl who take models and sel it as theirs.....without payment etc.......you could easily use it for your portfolio.....or even someone else who you're sharing it andtheres no proof it was even created by the modeler in the first place.........dont mean to sound igorant but there's a lot wrong with this and imo, you're best bet would be to use turbosquid
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves don’t understand.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 06:42 PM   #7
Dancing Lobster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duffel, Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I searched Turbosquid but I couldn't find anything (they're all .max files, I need Maya files )

And I would add in the readme file:
Mod made by:
Dancing Lobster: Scripting
.... : Made the custom weapon models.

Also, when I post it on several forums I will also mention the modelers name, so it's very clear that did not make the weapon models
__________________
Proud member of the C4F Multigaming clan
Dancing Lobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 08:14 PM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

no cash no mesh :p
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 08:53 PM   #9
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ColdWave
no cash no mesh :p
i have that printed on my boxer shorts.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 08:35 AM   #10
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

I have it branded on my cat.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 07:56 AM   #11
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Dancing Lobster
I searched Turbosquid but I couldn't find anything (they're all .max files, I need Maya files )

And I would add in the readme file:
Mod made by:
Dancing Lobster: Scripting
.... : Made the custom weapon models.

Also, when I post it on several forums I will also mention the modelers name, so it's very clear that did not make the weapon models
there is a thing from softimage called crosswalk. what it does is it converts maya files into xsi files and vice versa, also converts between max and xsi
crosswalk can work stand alone, or you could just download mod tools for free to convert stuff like that

you get where i'm going with this?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 08:59 AM   #12
Dancing Lobster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duffel, Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
there is a thing from softimage called crosswalk. what it does is it converts maya files into xsi files and vice versa, also converts between max and xsi
crosswalk can work stand alone, or you could just download mod tools for free to convert stuff like that

you get where i'm going with this?
Thanks a lot, I'll try it out as soon as possible
__________________
Proud member of the C4F Multigaming clan
Dancing Lobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 08:53 AM   #13
Dancing Lobster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duffel, Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm when I try to import the files in Maya with the stand alone setup from crosswalk, I can't choose "Softimage_Crosswalk_Importer" as file type :headbang:
__________________
Proud member of the C4F Multigaming clan
Dancing Lobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 02:21 PM   #14
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

did you activate it in the plug ins?

window > settings/preferences > plugin manager

wierd... when i did this ust now all my plug ins were unticked and unloaded....

generally, if you have a plug in for maya and it doesn't show up then you just have to use that

i think you can only play with the plug in manager if you aren't using the Maya PLE version
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2008, 04:52 AM   #15
Dancing Lobster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duffel, Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
did you activate it in the plug ins?

window > settings/preferences > plugin manager

wierd... when i did this ust now all my plug ins were unticked and unloaded....

generally, if you have a plug in for maya and it doesn't show up then you just have to use that

i think you can only play with the plug in manager if you aren't using the Maya PLE version
No I didn't... thanks again mate :attn:
__________________
Proud member of the C4F Multigaming clan
Dancing Lobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.