Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-01-2009, 02:48 AM   #1
Retoucher
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default gold logo on transparent glass

I am trying to place this polo logo, a tiff on this green transparent bottle.
I can place the logo on a shader using stencil but I can't figure out how to make the logo a shiny gold and connect or place it onto a transparent shader(the bottle).
Is it using a layered shader somehow with stencil? Is it connect the nodes?
I am stuck on this. can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
Jim
Attached Thumbnails
 
Retoucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 11:28 PM   #2
Retoucher
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is my question not clear?
Retoucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 11:41 PM   #3
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

try using a layered shader with a projection node on your label.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 12:13 AM   #4
Retoucher
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you very much. I am very much the newbie and I will research this procedure you suggested.

Thanks again.
Retoucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 03:07 AM   #5
Retoucher
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hammer_
I saw your Horror/glass_close.jpg on your website.
That is exactly what I need to do. How did you do it?

Thanks Jim
Retoucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:47 AM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

thats just a blinn with a projection on it, not a layered shader... i kind need to redo that, but having problems with a load of missing files... anyway...

You could try making a glass shader with a blinn or whatever. then plug that into your layered shader. Then with your horse file (make sure it has an alpha) project it onto the glass and position it where you want it. duplicate the projection node and link up the 3d placement node to the new projection node. you should link the file to the transparency of one and the colour of the other. so you have the one file texture using both projection nodes.

I did this to show you what i mean, i got to use my new wacom! if only for a second.



this probably doesn't make any sense so i'm going ot go to bed and let someone else explain.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 05:59 AM   #7
Retoucher
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hammer
I sincerely thank you for your post. With the visual you have provided I am sure I will be able to figure this out.

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this and I will make
sure I post the results for you to see.

Jim
Retoucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 05:55 PM   #8
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

no problem. I hope this helps!
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2009, 08:31 PM   #9
Dr.Polygon
Registered User
 
Dr.Polygon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi guys. This is exactly what I am trying to do, but I must be dumber than a post, because I can't figure out how to use the hypershade to create this network. I've got an alpha channel logo that I can map onto the object, but I can't figure out how to work the connections to make a layered shader like this. Any help would be great. Thanks.
Dr.Polygon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2009, 09:40 PM   #10
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

the node 2nd from the right is the layered shader. you will find that in the list of materials in the Hypershade, then you just plug in which ever two -or more- shaders you want.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2009, 09:55 PM   #11
Dr.Polygon
Registered User
 
Dr.Polygon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

what is the one on the end (right) for then?
Dr.Polygon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2009, 07:50 PM   #12
Dr.Polygon
Registered User
 
Dr.Polygon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Hammer,
I would appreciate it if you could fill in a few details for a newb...
In the pic you posted of your hypershade graph, what are the three connections from each of the shaders plugging into the first layered shader?

Next, what is the purpose of the last layered shader?

I still can't get this to work. I've got the logo looking right, but the rest of the object is 50% transparent for some reason.

Thanks
[IMG][/IMG]

Last edited by Dr.Polygon : 31-03-2009 at 09:09 PM.
Dr.Polygon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2009, 09:14 PM   #13
Dr.Polygon
Registered User
 
Dr.Polygon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

update. I've got the background shader showing up now, the logo looks good. My only remaining issue is the area around the logo--which is about 50 percent transparent. I've replaced the logo with other images, but they all act the same way. I can't figure out why the alpha doesn't extend at 100 percent around the rest of the object. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Dr.Polygon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2009, 11:25 PM   #14
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Maybe this will help:

http://www.forum.simplymaya.com/show...&threadid=9073

About halfway down the page, I wrote a step-by-step mini-tut on putting a label w/transparent background onto an object. There's also a .ma file if you need to see the shader network.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 02:58 PM   #15
bluemana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Dr.Polygon
update. I've got the background shader showing up now, the logo looks good. My only remaining issue is the area around the logo--which is about 50 percent transparent. I've replaced the logo with other images, but they all act the same way. I can't figure out why the alpha doesn't extend at 100 percent around the rest of the object. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Try to do add a specular map, where there is no logo should be black i guess.
bluemana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
glass se7enhedd Lighting & Rendering 18 10-12-2010 02:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.