Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-05-2009, 02:53 AM   #1
DigitalFear1217
Registered User
 
DigitalFear1217's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Angry Maya with After Effects CS4

i want to know if you can make a 3D object in Maya and bring it into After Effects. i know AE has 3D capabilities. if you can do it how. When i try to export the 3D object and Bring into AE it comes up as an empty comp. i Exported it as a .ma.

PLZ Help PLZ
DigitalFear1217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2009, 11:53 AM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

im pretty sure there is no way you can import an.obj.., but you might be able to bring in a camera..???
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:17 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Ok, perhaps Izzy (ragecgi) or anyone else can correct me if i get something wrong but...

AE is not a 3D program, it's only a 2.5D program (which i think means you aren't actually in true 3D space, but things can kind of be moved around in 3D)

AE is not going understand anything from the ma file other than camera data and locator positions

i've seen Izzy do it before...

for something to show up in the composition you need to have a camera that wasn't your default perspective camera. if you've animated your perspective camera (BAD IDEA) then you should duplicate it and parent it to the perspective camera. then go edit > keys > bake simulation > [] and reset the options.

you also need to rename locators with a "null_" prefix or they wont show up in AE

export as maya ascii

basically what you can do now is in AE is import that .ma watch the camear as it moves around the locators (now shown as mega huge null objects)
change the null shapes scale to something like 2% if you want to see them about the same size as you did in maya

so now you can replace the null shapes with objects you have in the project files by alt dragging them onto the null shape layers in the comp

you still have to render stuff out from maya, you can't just bring in models and work with them in 3D in AE.


in short, merik is correct only camera and locator data can be brought in
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.