Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-06-2010, 10:20 AM   #1
should_be_shot
Subscriber
 
should_be_shot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lincoln, United Kingdom
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Maya to Maya, PC to Mac

Hi Guys

I'm currently working on a large project that my PC can't seem to render, So I've been transferring the models I've made on the PC to my Mac. Both systems are running Maya 2010.

The problem is when I transfer the files from the PC to the mac I loose all the links to my textures. The way I'm going about this is archiving the file then opening it on the mac side.

Is there a better way or some kind of software, plugin that would streamline the process?

Any advise would be great
__________________
Ignorance is bliss
should_be_shot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 05:21 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I think if you have relative paths to the textures (by setting your project, then just using textures/image.jpg or whatever it might be, that will be the same for the Mac if you set the same project.
Do you have absolute paths to textures right now? I was going to make a script to turn all absolute paths into relative paths, but I haven't had the time or skill to do so yet.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 07:54 PM   #3
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I think this is similar to what stwert was saying. I've never tried it out, but my understanding was that if you setup a project and put all your texture files into the source images folder of your project that everything would work on any computer as long as you transfered the whole project folder.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:08 PM   #4
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

If all the textures are in one folder, all you need to do is relink one, and the others will automatically relink themselves. Change one, then go through each texture in your scene, and click on reload. It will automatically relink itself to the correct directory.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:37 PM   #5
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Cool tip, thanks NextDesign!
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:14 AM   #6
should_be_shot
Subscriber
 
should_be_shot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lincoln, United Kingdom
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

Cheers guys hadn't realized anyone had replied since all SimplyMaya replies where ending up in my junk folder.

Thanks Again
__________________
Ignorance is bliss
should_be_shot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.