Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-01-2011, 03:54 AM   #1
jigsy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default shaded to wireframe animation

Hey guys,

I've just recently made started with Maya and I'm looking to get into character modeling. I have seen a number of turntable animations where just the model fades from a shaded to a wireframe, and sometimes partial wireframe. I'm curious to know, is that done within Maya or is it done in After Effects?

Cheers all
jigsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2011, 05:01 AM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jigsy View Post
Hey guys,

I've just recently made started with Maya and I'm looking to get into character modeling. I have seen a number of turntable animations where just the model fades from a shaded to a wireframe, and sometimes partial wireframe. I'm curious to know, is that done within Maya or is it done in After Effects?

Cheers all
I'm not sure how others have done it but I've done it by rendering out the full animation in wireframe, then render it without wireframe. Then in a seperate application transition between the two. It doesn't have to be after effects, but yes you could do it with that. Basically any application where you can transition between two animations. I'm sure there are other ways to do it, but that's how I've done it. You can even create alpha masks to get even more creative so that parts of the model appear wired and parts non-wired.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2011, 08:56 AM   #3
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Easiest way in my experience is to render out the wire, then the shaded view and comp the two together.

Dave
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2011, 09:00 AM   #4
jigsy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, I'll give that a shot

cheers
jigsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Short Animation Lion`I Finished Work 0 10-01-2011 10:07 AM
Character Animation (Andy Rig) Perfecto Work In Progress 16 05-01-2011 01:35 PM
Walk cycle animation maheshsubbiah Finished Work 0 22-12-2010 07:14 AM
Final Animation Project 2010 fairdinkim_m8 Finished Work 5 19-12-2010 05:44 AM
HELP! Rendering output doesn't match animation cyranovb Mental Ray 6 17-12-2010 10:00 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.