Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-03-2011, 05:04 PM   #1
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default individual adjustment in selection - pls help

hi,

is there a way to modify each element in a selection individually instead of the whole selection together? it is gotta be possible through an option. basically what i want is to select a few things (e.g. verts) and move/rotate/scale them ALL at the same time. or at least select a bunch of verts on my border, and snap them all to an axis w/o having to select them individually. that possible, or do i have to use a band-aid hammer and ducttape scale them a bunch of times along the axis, and then move them?

duckie
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BabyDuck For This Useful Post:
Old 03-03-2011, 05:29 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

If you're trying to snap vertices all to a grid-line, you can do that by holding down 'x' while moving. You'll have to turn off retain component spacing or a similar attribute, I think it's in the move tool settings. You could also try checking in the component channels in the channel box (at the top it says "click to show" and it will give you translate xyz for all verts in the selection). Hope that helps.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 03-03-2011, 07:37 PM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

oh awesome, thank you. that setting is actually off by default ( retain component spacing on snap). now i see why it does horrible results if you don't wish to flatten everything - leaving snapping on by accident when not needing it i mean.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BabyDuck For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
annoying selection problem mastone Members Lounge 0 19-02-2011 08:11 PM
Selection sets? gaboraa Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 29-12-2010 02:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.