Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-03-2011, 12:21 AM   #1
micek05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default shatter effect question

Hey guys Im very very new to Maya and am trying to do a shatter effect on a poly model I made. I successfully shattered a primitive sphere, but when I try to do this on the model I made I get this error.


crackShatter( "crackShatter", 5, 200, 0, 0, 0, 0, 4, "rigid bodies with collisions off", 1, 0);
// Error: Selection not valid for crack shatter. Please select exactly one vertex or CV, and nothing else. //
// Error: An error occurred while running the Crack Shatter script. Results may be invalid. If necessary, undo to restore the previous situation. //
// Warning: The script editor must contain at least one executer tab. //

I am doing the exact same thing that I did with the sphere. I have the model in object mode, delete the history and freeze transformations. Any idea what I am doing wrong? Any help is appreciated. Thanks
micek05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micek05 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2011, 12:42 AM   #2
gtovey
Registered User
 
gtovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default

are u using the default shatter effect that may provides?
gtovey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gtovey For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2011, 02:02 AM   #3
micek05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yes. I go into effects, then the shatter options box. When i try to do a solid shatter and click create, it gives me that error.
micek05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micek05 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2011, 05:16 AM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Did you read the error message? The answer is there

I did what you did, i selected a sphere and did a cracked shatter and it gave the same error
then i did what the error message said to do and it worked
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chirone For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2011, 03:41 PM   #5
gtovey
Registered User
 
gtovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default

same here..also i have found a different way to do some really cool shatter effect using ncloths they look really sweet if u want to know how i can show u or i guess technically tell u. soo just lemme know hope it works!
gtovey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gtovey For This Useful Post:
Old 26-12-2013, 01:21 PM   #6
soundmartell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Delete by type

Hello, I know it is a very old tread but maybe it could help some body.

Just select the object and go to: Edit/Delete By Type/History before applying the Shatter.
If you try to apply the shatter without deleting by type history you will get this error:
{An error occurred while running the Crack Shatter script. Results may be invalid. If necessary, undo to restore the previous situation.} And the shatter will not be successful.
Regards.
soundmartell is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to soundmartell For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
light-hearted question regarding 'nodes'... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 17 27-03-2011 12:22 AM
question about textures??? nbrooks Maya Materials & Textures 2 19-03-2011 02:26 AM
Final gather Question -Urgent! darecarce Mental Ray 3 02-03-2011 10:51 AM
pivot point question Raptor365 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 02-02-2011 04:58 PM
Stepping effect in fluid gubar Dynamics & Special Effects 2 03-12-2010 10:42 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.