Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 11-01-2013 , 03:54 PM

Calculating acceleration between two keyframes?

Hello (first post)!

I'm a little embarrassed to ask this but can anyone show me (via a MEL script) that calculates a curve's acceleration between two keyframes with flat tangents? (sample image provided).

Many thanks in advance (I'm just learning).

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 11-01-2013 , 07:15 PM
Technical Director
This isn't trivial, as you would need to find the function that describes the curve, then the derivative of the curve, then the derivative of that curve in order to determine the acceleration. Maya lacks these functions, and would have to be coded by hand.

Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 11-01-2013 , 10:42 PM
Lifetime Member
Since the tangents are flat though could you not simply average it out and simply take the magnitude of the vector describing the translation from key1 to key2 and then divide that by the time between the keyframes?

[ie: so you're assuming a linear transformation over time?]

# 4 12-01-2013 , 02:58 AM
Technical Director
You could, but I think it would give incorrect results. You would still need to find two derivatives as well.

The question is a bit vague though, as acceleration isn't a constant scalar, it's a function.

Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 12-01-2013 at 03:09 AM.
# 5 12-01-2013 , 11:41 AM
Lifetime Member
Good point ... just realised what I've suggested will only give the velocity ... not the acceleration *DUH*

# 6 04-02-2013 , 05:30 PM