Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 09-04-2014 , 11:15 AM

Will I be able to texture this model?

Hello there, I've just created my first model simply by playing around with Maya without the aid of tutorials. It was a lengthy process but I'm pretty happy with the result. My issue now is that I want to texture/paint it but from what I've seen when I tried to import it into Mudbox wasn't very promising. I realise my method of creating this model probably isn't the correct way but I've invested a lot of hours into making it and I really don't want them to go wasted.

Here is my model in Maya, a VW camper. Seems fine to me, but then again I am a novice who has invested the past 2 days making it.
user added image

After I try to import it into Mudbox, I'm told there is problems with my Mesh. Which I can see thanks to dotted red lines covering the model. Then I try to paint onto one side of the model and the entire model slowly starts to get covered until its the same whole colour. I have absolute no experience with mudbox, I could just be doing it wrong but I thought I would ask a modelling community in case I'm just digging a bigger hole for myself.

user added image

# 2 09-04-2014 , 03:17 PM
You don't need to texture this in Mudbox. You can do all of it in Maya. Using materials and UVing certain parts you will be good to go. If you aren't doing anything on a panel then just automap it. If it is for a portfolio then well the modeling needs to be worked on. But UV it all for practice.

# 3 09-04-2014 , 04:00 PM