Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-03-2003, 04:02 PM   #1
Zombra
Registered User
 
Zombra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Rendering an animation

Hi, I have a little question

I am making an animation of a dolphin and I did its skeleton with all constraints and everything

all the set up is done but when it comes to rendering the animation, Maya renders only a 1 second movie and it doesn't show the whole animation. It shows only the dolphin's first movement.

I have the same problem with all movies that I try to create through rendering an animation.

In rendering globals, I did everything that Mick said in his free tutorial but it doesn't work out welll for me.

Is there something I am missing or doing wrong?

What can I do to fix this problem?

Please.


Thankx for any help!


Zombra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 04:38 AM   #2
Hidalgo
Subscriber
 
Hidalgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Idaho USA!!!
Posts: 492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In the Render Globals, do you have your start frame and end frame set to where you want it?
__________________
http://www.darrylworley.com/

http://www.defendamerica.mil/nmam.html
Hidalgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 05:11 AM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

make sure you set your frame padding correctly, too.

I've had situations where only the first 9 frames will play because of the jump from 9.tga to 10.tga instead of 09.tga to 10.tga...
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 11:43 AM   #4
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Watch mikes video tut
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 04:13 PM   #5
Zombra
Registered User
 
Zombra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Maybe that's what I'm doing wrong
ok lets say that my animation has a start time of 1.00
ans start playback of 1.00, playback end time and end time of 48.00
how do I determine the number of frames or are those the number of frames 48?

ok in render globals that's what I do.
Zombra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 05:22 PM   #6
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If your animation is 150 frames, the start would be 1 and the last will be 150

__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 06:19 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I noticed your saying it renders only 1 second of animation earlier in this thread.... you realize at 30 fps, 48 frames is only 1.5 seconds... are you sure it's doing something wrong? If you want a longer animation, keep your fps settings in mind. It's usually set at 24 fps (film) or 30 fps (video).
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 11:14 PM   #8
Zombra
Registered User
 
Zombra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hmmm
if I understand

a 48 frames at 24 fps (film) it should be a 1.2 secs film.

then

if I want, lets say, a 2 mins animation I should use 2400 frames

is that true?

so

I suppose that instead of using playback end and end time at 48.00 I should use 2400.

Or,

instead of 48.00 in render globals I should type 2400?

which one is the one that I have to change?
Zombra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 11:18 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

first, you need to make sure your animation lasts that long... if your dolphin is only keyed to move between frames 1 and 48, then even if you render 1 million frames, it'll only move those first 48.

48 frames at 24 fps (film) should be 2 seconds... so, you'd need 2880 frames for 2 min.

So, you'd need to change the animation of your dolphin to last that long and you'll need to change the render globals end frame to 2880 or whatever you decide to use.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 11:26 PM   #10
Zombra
Registered User
 
Zombra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ohhh ok
so in fact I have to set both end time in the animation itself and in render global to the same number of frames, say 2880 for 2 mins in a 24fps film.

right?
Zombra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 11:39 PM   #11
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Yes, you have to set your animation start and end first, then match it in render globals. Like Mike said, if you just animate frames 1-48....and set render globals to 2880....you're basically going to get frames 1-48....then lots of copies of that 48th frame.

Btw, If your animation is 2880 frames, don't forget to set your frame padding to 4, also.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 11:40 PM   #12
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

ok, you have to have animation first... You set keys for your dolphin, causing it to move... right?

You will want to render however many frames your dolphin is moving. However, keep in mind that how quickly the animation passes is dependant on how many fps you have it set for. Default is usually 24fps or 30fps.

So, for example, if you have your dolphin keyed to move in an undulating circular motion for 15 frames, it'll be moving lightning fast, as that's just half a second.

Good luck!
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 11:59 PM   #13
Zombra
Registered User
 
Zombra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hmmm ok
i get it

hmmm im gong to try all of your suggestions and I'll let you know how I did

thankx a lot for you help guys I appreciate it a lot.


Zombra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2003, 12:15 AM   #14
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Exacly what Mike said, You dont wanna be rendering 300 frames of you animation only lastes for 48

__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.