Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-08-2003, 07:33 AM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Mirror reflection

Does anyone know a simple way to set up a mirror reflection. I can't find it in any docs.

Thanks.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2003, 07:42 PM   #2
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I am having this same problem....You could get the silver shader from highend3d....it has a ring in the thumbnail. I couldnt get it to work using the scanline renderer, but I didnt try mental ray. It might be worth a shot.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 01:13 AM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

reflections and refractions both require raytracing to be turned on in your render globals.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 07:15 AM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

OK, but how do I set mirror reflections? If I have to use raytracing I will, but the docs say to set the "material's Reflectivity value", but I cannot find that anywhere.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 12:59 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

it depends on the material you use. Lambert doesn't have a reflectivity. Blinn, Phong, Anisotropic do. In fact, by default, they are reflective.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 01:10 PM   #6
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

then in the attribute editor of the material u can pump up the reflectivity
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 06:48 PM   #7
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hmmm. I guess I'm being vague in my request.

I'm using an ocean shader, and would like the ocean to reflect some of the objects. Is it possible to give mirror reflectivity to an ocean shader. I have tried upping the reflectivity, but it will not reflect my objects in the scene.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 06:53 PM   #8
^^TwEeK^^
Registered User
 
^^TwEeK^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

as mike said....you need to trun on raytracing...after you do that you cange the values of the reflectivity
__________________
- TwEeK
^^TwEeK^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 07:03 PM   #9
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

How do I "turn on" raytracing? Do I change the reflection limit?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 07:13 PM   #10
^^TwEeK^^
Registered User
 
^^TwEeK^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its in render globals..you just need to check raytacing in the raytracing tab
__________________
- TwEeK
^^TwEeK^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2003, 07:34 PM   #11
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I appreciate your guys patience with me, but I must be missing something. I have raytracing turned on in render globals, my reflectivity is set to 1.0, and my reflection limit under Raytrace options is set to 4. Still I get no mirror reflections. What am I leaving out? Is it possible that ocean objects just cannot reflect other objects?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 12:19 AM   #12
daChamp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Reflectivity in Maya is related to specular values. So if your ocean shader is has low pecular values, it will have very low reflectivity.

Lemme know if this helped.
__________________
da Champ
daChamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 12:30 AM   #13
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

That was it!!! Champ you are the champ.

Thank you all for the tidbits that got me there.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.