Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-09-2003, 05:08 AM   #91
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Mmmm. Just a thought but... How about hitting F1? :p

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 03:38 PM   #92
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

it would be nice.. bu something is wrong and i get an error, and none of my help files work.. Grr..
B
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 04:06 PM   #93
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

have u tried reinstalling it? Sounds like an installation corruption.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 04:08 PM   #94
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

that sucks... Grr.. i know how to make an image displace, but it doesn't displace very much, no matter what the contrast is, the displacement is allways minimal... Does anybody have any idea why, or how you controll the displacement?? Thanks
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 04:26 PM   #95
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

well, it kinda works like a bump map. Gotta have the displacment map in grayscale, a bmp usually works best for that. Then, all you should need to do is apply the thing and control it in the att. editor. Just, start it with a very minimal number and work up from there, since it does actually create geometry using the map. A high setting will blow it way out of proportion and take forever to test render.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 04:43 PM   #96
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

here is my first test... this looks so much better than a bump map, but it also takes alot longer to render.... What do you think? I am going to bump it up a bit... Dave, I couldn't find an attribute, where I could just bump up the displacement... not sure where it is? Instead, I edited the dispalcement shader, by remaping it with a ramp shader in maya, and for the white or light color, instead of making the V value a value of 1, I bumped it up to 8... no i will go to 12 to see what it looks like. THanks,
Brian
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 04:54 PM   #97
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

made some more changes... THink its going to work out really really well! Thanks alot for the tip about making displacement maps... looks much better than bump maps... Just takes alot longer to render.. any comments? What do you guys think? I will need to edit it of corse, so that not everything sticks out.. but its a start. Thanks,
Brian
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 06:06 PM   #98
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Incredible stuff!

This is the path, hope your cumputer can handle the whole car though when the time comes. (Maybe it´ll be time to render in passes)
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 07:16 PM   #99
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Looks like you are on track. TIme for the real thing.
RickStefani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 07:56 PM   #100
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Brian, open the hypershade and click on the material node with the displacement map on it. Then, click on the SHOW INPUT / OUTPUT CONNECTIONS, this will map out the connections in the lower window. It will show you the displacement node. Click on it and you should be able to change the values.

What you have is looking good. But edit it so you have varying levels of displacement. Also, watch the 'mountains'. If you notice, the peaks look good, but the sides are all smooth. Actually, by adding a bump map to the displacement shader, you might be able to pull off bumpy sides.

Oh, and yes... the displacement shader takes a while to render. You might want to render it seperately from the truck and composite.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 04:03 AM   #101
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hey guys... Grrr... what a bad day... Over the last few days, I have noticed some wierd things with my email account, and I think that someone took it over, or is atleast using it to send out spam mail with my name.... GGGGRRRRR... I haven't really recieved anything from anybody as well, so if anybody has tried to email me lately, i probably didn't get it, I don't know how long it has been going on.... Guess I need to contact the company that is hosting my email. So, if you neeed to ask me anything email me at

Brian_ellebracht@yahoo.com

atleast for a little while untill I get this fixed. Other bad news... I really hope that this truck project helps get me a job somewhere.. cauz its going to cost me alot of money... THe mud some how messed up my paint in two ways... where ever the mud was, it is leaving some really bad marks, think it ate thru my clear coat... Brand new truck) I am having some one look at it sometime next week... Two when I was washing it today, I was using a rag my mom gave me... aparantly it was the same rag that my parrents used to redo the grout on the bathroom tile... Didn't notice the scratches until I was 3/4 of the way done washing it when it started to dry.. needless to say... not a good weekend at all. Haven't got to work on the model lately... Well, hopefully tomorrow will be better,
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 04:34 AM   #102
TheGreenGiant
Subscriber
 
TheGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you're not employed?? What the.. That's a goddamn shame - for some reason, I'd believed that you were hired somewhere. Your work is pretty awesome. Shame about the car too, I guess its one of the things you don't think about. My beetle was wrecked by the time I was through with it - thing with leaving your emails out on the net, do not have the @ placed anywhere. Bots apparently scour the net looking for email addresses.

Hope your weekend shapes up!
TheGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 05:06 PM   #103
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by brian_ellebracht:
I have noticed some wierd things with my email account, and I think that someone took it over, or is atleast using it to send out spam mail with my name....
Oooh! You got a virus! Run a system scan. Update your virus definitions and scan. The So-Big worm does what you describe. (as well as a few others) But you definitely got a virus if you're sending emails that you aren't actually sending. Also, dont open any of them that you get back. That's a NO NO!

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 05:09 PM   #104
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Oh, btw...

Brian, I was playing with a little utility called the HEIGHT FIELD. Works something like the Displacement Map but works a lot faster. Only problem is, I couldn't figure out how to get it to render. Hrmmm...

Well, might want to look into that as well, as an alternative/addition to displacement mapping.

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 05:17 PM   #105
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

From what I understand, Hotmail's servers have this worm thing, and most hotmail accounts seem to be sending out those virus emails. Hopefully they'll fix it soon.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.