Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-12-2003, 04:44 AM   #1
bjbowen4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Normals Problem?

Ok been trying to learn the whole shading/texturing thing since that is my biggest challenge. However as I have been playing around texturing different models I'm making I've found this strange problem on some models.

I'm not quite sure how to explain it, but they look like little shadows here and there. They like break apart the faces in a diagnal fashion. I thought it might be something with the normals but I've played with a couple of the functions that adjust normals. But no difference. Here's a screenshot to better illustrate. I circled the area I'm talking about.

What's the problem? How do I avoid it, and how do I fix it now?
Attached Thumbnails
 
bjbowen4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 05:35 AM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I *think* this is because you dont have enough faces to make a nice round surface like that...so try going back to the geometry and raise the face count...

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 05:38 AM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I believe that would be your shadow settings. Try a higher Dmap resolution and a filter size of 2.

If you're not using lights or shadows, then I would think it would be the lack of geometry as suggested. I think the main thing you'd need to do in such case is simply make it quads. One thing that I sometimes do is Triangulate, and then Quadrangulate a model.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 05:56 AM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

a pic of the wire would help, er. well at least I have a morbide intrest in the afliction.. LOL
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 08:15 AM   #5
mmgraphics
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, let´s see the wire. Maybe that helps.
__________________
M. Muster
mmgraphics
http://www.mmgraphics.de/bannernew.jpg
info@mmgraphics.de | www.mmgraphics.de
mmgraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 02:05 PM   #6
bjbowen4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here's the wire as requested. Hopefully you'll be able to see what you are looking for.
Attached Thumbnails
 
bjbowen4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 02:15 PM   #7
bjbowen4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

also I just tried a couple of the options given to raise the face count. They helped, the effect is much less pronounced now, say only 5 or times around the plate. But I undid, and did a smooth and its completely gone.

However now it begs the question, after the smooth the model is up to a little over 28,000 faces. Is there a way to avoid this to keep the face count low? That just seems a bit high to me, maybe its because I've done some models for games in the past.
bjbowen4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 03:01 PM   #8
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by bjbowen4
[However now it begs the question, after the smooth the model is up to a little over 28,000 faces. Is there a way to avoid this to keep the face count low? That just seems a bit high to me, maybe its because I've done some models for games in the past. [/b]
it is high for a simple geometry.
try using a simple curve to draw the outline of the shape of what looks like a "plate" from ur images, the do a "revolve" then adjust the CVs from the original profile curve an after u are happy just convert to poly with the count option and specify the poly count.
that might work. or just use NURBS geometry.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 03:46 PM   #9
bjbowen4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That is orginally how I crafted the piece. Except I did not use the poly count option. I didn't know there was one, I'm enjoying this Maya adventure, I learn something new everyday.
bjbowen4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2003, 02:19 AM   #10
bjbowen4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just in case someone does a search for the same problem here is how I fixed my problem.

The edge right before the geometry curves up to make the lip. It was slightly lower than the rest of the plate. Which is geometrically correct, but once I moved that edge up a little bit it vanshed. Seems like the system was trying to cast some wierd shadows.
bjbowen4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2003, 02:32 AM   #11
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@bjbowen4

Thanks for leaving your solution it definatly is great to have the question and solution in the thread.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2003, 04:09 PM   #12
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

thats wierd becouse I thought for sure he would find out its was all thoughs 5 sided polys. really I think the reson it disopeared was becouse when you raised the edge up it compensated for the dip the 5 sided poly was makeing.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
Normals Funkyness 3dStudent Modeling 5 04-12-2010 03:10 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.