Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-01-2005, 03:00 PM   #1
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Combine and then merging multiple vertex/edges

I need help on an issue that I can not fix myself.

I have created a halve of a chess piece - Knight in poly. I then duplicated it and then combined the two pieces in to ine poly object.

The problem is that when you do so it makes a nice piece of geometry but in shading mode you will see a specific line on where the pieces were combined.

[See attachment] - the yellow dotted vertex is the line where it shows the two different geometry.

I have searched this forum on how to fix this but as far as I can see it that I have to manually merge each vertex :-S

How can I fix this issue ?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 06:54 PM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Under the Edit Polygons menu is an option to "merge multiple vertices." Just select the row of vertices as you have then run that feature.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 07:14 PM   #3
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Or I am blind or my Maya is screwed up as I do not have that option in my Edit Poly:


I am using version 5
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 07:44 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I think he meant Merge Vertices.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 08:19 PM   #5
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
I think he meant Merge Vertices.
SO if I select all the center vertex and press the Merge vertex it will merge the vertex closes to each other ?

Just want o be sure ?
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 09:35 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You'll probably need to adjust the distance slider in the Merge Vertices options. The higher the distance, the futher out it will look for vertices to merge. You can also adjust this after the fact in the Channel Box's inputs section.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 10:37 PM   #7
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

My fault... As Mike stated it is the "merge vertices" If you go into the options box next that option you can adjust the tolerance. I.e. merger vertices that are within a certain distance range. Select the vertices you want to merge limits this action to only the selected vertices rather than all vertices in the mesh. Sorry for the confusion.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2005, 12:23 AM   #8
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I think it worked... when I move a vertex it "Sticks" to the object - tnx all..
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.