SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-07-2008, 09:22 AM   #1
nonender
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ques

Some very weird stuff occured while running maya 8.0 and i have a few questiones.
First of all ..Is it possible that can there be more then one versions of maya 8.0?
Does Maya 8.0 have the modeling option?
Does Maya 8.5 have the modeling option?
Thank you!
nonender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2008, 09:29 AM   #2
Bluethunder
Registered User
 
Bluethunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm not sure what you mean by "more than one version of maya 8.0" , maybe someone else does...

I do know that Maya 8.5 (at least the PLE) does not have a modeling menu set. Instead, it has a "surfaces" and "polygons" menu set.

Hope that helps.
Bluethunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2008, 09:48 AM   #3
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

There is 3 versions of every maya release. PLE, Complete, and Unlimited.
PLE is the free version with a watermark over it. Maya complete is the standard version of maya. PLE without the watermark, so to speak. and Unlimited is maya complete, but with cloth, fur, fluids, etc.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2008, 10:42 AM   #4
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

well... whats the "weird stuff" that occured?
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2008, 11:12 PM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default Re: ques

Quote:
Originally posted by nonender
Does Maya 8.0 have the modeling option?
Does Maya 8.5 have the modeling option?
Thank you!
i assume you're talking about the modelling menu set which was part of the dropdown list in the upper left hand corner

in that case it doesn't exist in 8.0 or 8.5 because it was split into Surfaces and Polygon menu set as bluethunder mentioned

but like acid said... what is the "weird stuff" that's happened?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.