Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-12-2010, 10:09 AM   #1
sonah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Exclamation converting triangle polygons to quads ?

Hi
can anybody tell me how to convert triangle polygons to quads in maya 2009

sonah is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sonah For This Useful Post:
proworker (15-12-2010)
Old 15-12-2010, 10:32 AM   #2
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

Can you post a bigger picture of your object? Cant really see where this edge going.

The best way to modify is by hand. Delete edge (what you dont like) & split polygon tool.
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2010, 10:58 AM   #3
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I believe 'quadrangulate' does the trick and adjust the settings (mesh>quadrangulate checkbox>adjust settinds). I do however agree with joey...what is the edge actually for? and I would also agree with joey to do it by hand...much better control. Get used to deleting edges as you progress, some times I make heaps of edge loops to delete a good portion of them..or even when I use the split poly tool, sometimes more is too much. You will also merge verts a lot as you delete edges etc...its a combo thing really, decide what you need and adjust, then disregard what you dont.

I found when I first started I tried to have a gazillion lines and verts etc...now I try to have less and think of the placement etc..LOL but sometime you change your mind.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2010, 12:02 PM   #4
BrianM
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Joey81 View Post
Can you post a bigger picture of your object? Cant really see where this edge going.

The best way to modify is by hand. Delete edge (what you dont like) & split polygon tool.
Just make sure you delete the remaining vertices after you delete the edges, they get left behind and you end up with ngons which is a lot worse than tris and things like your insert edge loop tool will no longer work. Looks to me like where ever that edge is going it is not a very good use of geometry so if it's meant for tying something together there must be a better way of doing it in another area.
BrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2010, 12:14 PM   #5
Nilla
Administrator
 
Nilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 753
Thanks: 28
Thanked 233 Times in 186 Posts
Default

Hi sonah, I just moved this thread. Please post modeling related questions under modeling rather than in the basics and newbie section so that other people find these threads when they search the modeling forum for answers to things like this.

Thanks and I hope the model works out well for you
Nilla
Nilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2010, 12:34 PM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Yes Brian you are right I missed that part out, there is an option Edit Mesh>delete edge/vertex
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2010, 12:25 PM   #7
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,994
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Unfortunately there is no magic "makequad" tool in maya. There is quadrangulate mesh but seriously it just creates a mess. What you need to do is fix those triangle by hand. Unfortunately there is not enough of the mesh visible to really get an idea of the best way to fix it. The two tiny tri's in the middle can be fixed by just collapsing the edges or merging the verts leaving the big tri on top and bottom which you could cut edges to in order to make them quads. But I cannot see enough of the mesh to understand why that edge needs to be there and therefore cannot suggest the best way to fix it.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2010, 03:46 PM   #8
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I would guess, that that edge was created erroneously while using the cut faces tool. Perhaps the user wasn't familiar with the tool's usage and didn't realize that when they cut face on an object that it slices thought eh entire object from the angle its viewed from, ...
Were you trying to make an edge across a specific face, of the object from perspective view and later discovered that the edge was through the full object in question?.. The two triangles that are smaller, and the face that all the verts on the edge shown are co-planar suggest this to me.

I ask because its a good learning point for new users, Even if not what happened to your mesh, I still do it on occasion, Lets say i have used the cut faces tool for something, step away for a moment, and forget to deactivate the tool while going to select another component in my scene, blam i end up with an edge through my model that looks just like what you have there,

Agian though, the solution would be more forthcoming if one can view the object as a whole to see what you were trying to achieve.
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2010, 09:27 PM   #9
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

To avoid cutting thru faces with the cut faces tool, just select the faces you want to cut with it, then it wont affect other parts of the mesh A little nugget that not many people are aware of....

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jay For This Useful Post:
bullet1968 (21-12-2010)
Old 21-12-2010, 11:16 PM   #10
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Well you learn something new...thanks Jay
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 03:50 AM
question hamidz90 Modeling 3 12-12-2010 11:52 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.