Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-02-2004, 08:16 AM   #1
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cloth-drivin SubD's

I am trying to animate some smooth subD clothing by simulating with a level 0 polygon mesh (the one I converted into subD) and using this mesh as a wrap deformer for the SubD.

Here is step-by-step what I have done:

1. model character body and garment (around 700-1000 polys each, as they will become SubD)

2. turn garment into cloth object (cloth --> create cloth object) and use Denim preset. Make character body a cloth collision object. Also there are several vertices of the cloth mesh constrained to this body. Not sure if that matters.

3. copy garment, quadrangulate, and convert to SubD

4. select SubD and then poly cloth and deform---> create wrap

5. Solve- cloth solves perfectly but the wrap deformer does not affect the SubD!

I have tried max influence from 0.01 to 500, and nothing works.

Not sure if this is relevant, but when I copy my cloth object and try to convert it to a cloth object, I get this error :
"Error: Not enough data was provided. The last 2 items will be skipped."

since the SubD is made from a copy of the cloth object could it somehow not work?

I have tried copying the base poly object and converting one copy to a cloth object and the other to subD, but I get the same error whether I use the original or the copy. The only way I can make cloth and a corresponding SubD seems to be to make no copies, create the cloth, copy that, quadrangulate it, and THEN convert to SubD. I have a feeling that this is the root of my problem.

Also, I made a low-poly sphere, put it inside the cloth object and made the cloth a wrap deformer for IT, and when I moved the cloth's verts around nothing happened. The sphere's wire DID turn purple when I selected the cloth, same with the SubD. Weird.


All help appreciated! Thanks much.

Last edited by carrot juice : 07-02-2004 at 08:29 AM.
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 09:25 AM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i don't have maya cloth so i'm going to tell you what i think the problem is.

maya cloth is a simulation, so it reacts to realistic physics, it deforms on it's own and moves according to it's constrains.
applying a deformer on the cloth will/should not work. because the deformer would hinder the simulation and it's dynamics.

another thing instead, of using your subd body as a collision object for the cloth, u can use a low low poly version of the subD body and make it the collision object and parent it to the subd body and of course make the low poly body not renderable. this would increase speed dramatically.
hope this helped.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 04:06 PM   #3
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I might not have been clear.

I am using the low poly cloak as a cloth and colliding that with a low-poly body. I am not trying to apply a deformer TO the cloth but rather use the cloth AS a wrap deformer for a SubD so that I can have seemingly hi-res cloth without having to simulate a dense mesh.

I know it supposedly works because a lot of people on.. uh, that other site talk about it.

Actually, I have tested it out colliding a simple poly cloth plane with a poly sphere and having the plane wrap a copy of itself which is converted to subD, and it worked perfectly.

UPDATE: I have tried importing the file into another scene and simulating, creating the subD in another scene and importing it into this one. I have tried making the cloak a wrap deformer for a subD copy of itself and several other objects. It seems that this cloak is for some reason incapable of being a wrap deformer, and that the problem is not with cloth.

Thanks for the reply!

Last edited by carrot juice : 07-02-2004 at 04:33 PM.
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 06:12 PM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

now i see what u mean.
sory but i don't have cloth....
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 07:54 PM   #5
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah, so 'tis

thanks for the reply
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.