Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-03-2004, 09:29 PM   #1
PilotLtKettch
Registered User
 
PilotLtKettch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default paint effects hair

I recently started making hair for my characer, and the strokes show up in the normal view, but when I render nothing shows up. it takes a long time at the end, as if it's doing the paint effects, but nothing shows up, does anyone know why this is? thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
 
PilotLtKettch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:31 PM   #2
PilotLtKettch
Registered User
 
PilotLtKettch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

and the render without hair
Attached Thumbnails
 
PilotLtKettch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 11:24 PM   #3
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

paint FX strokes only work with Maya software renderer. If you are using Mental than you must convert your PFX strokes to Polys.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 11:37 PM   #4
PilotLtKettch
Registered User
 
PilotLtKettch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yea, I thought for a moment that might be it, but I'm rendering in Maya software...
PilotLtKettch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 12:04 AM   #5
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

well, is it possible to post the file? I could take a look at it.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 01:10 AM   #6
PilotLtKettch
Registered User
 
PilotLtKettch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got it to work, I had started it on a mac with the paint effects file not in with the others (it was locked, school computer) and so I don't think it knew what to do with it, cause now I'm on a PC and it's fine
PilotLtKettch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.