Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-10-2005, 02:44 AM   #1
simoncullen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default bi-railing from curve profiles

Hello,

I am an absolute newbie, as they say. I am trying to model a human head using the EP curve tool, and then bi-railing the profiles to create NURBS surfaces.

I started by making curves which follow the two profiles of a head (from front and side images). I've now got my profiles done... (I've "attached" the .mb file to this post.)

I want to start creating surfaces by bi-railing. So I select the bi-rail-2 tool, and the select two profiles (curves) and it tells me to select to "rails" which I do, and yet I still don't get a NURBS surface!

Sorry for my vagueness! This is essentially my first Maya model. I'd really appreciate any help with this. I really have no idea why it's not generating NURBS surfaces for me...

Cheers,
Simon

Edit: when I run the tool it gives me this message in the box at the bottom of the screen:

Result: dspBirailSurface17 dpBirailSrf17

I have no idea what that means... Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: mb head.mb (83.4 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by simoncullen : 10-10-2005 at 02:57 AM.
simoncullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:38 PM   #2
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

what maya version is that file? i canīt open it..
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:44 PM   #3
simoncullen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 7 (linux)

I've saved it at MayaASCII and attached it to this post.


Thanks for looking!

Simon
Attached Files
File Type: ma head.ma (105.0 KB, 11 views)
simoncullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:54 PM   #4
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

hm, sorry. still canīt open it. you work with PLE?
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 08:05 PM   #5
simoncullen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've changed the permissions on the file, try this one...

Cheers,
Simon
Attached Files
File Type: ma head.ma (105.0 KB, 12 views)
simoncullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 08:29 PM   #6
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

while I still canīt open it due to the following -> Maya binary file parse error: : (6) corrupted file structure;
I try to image what it could be.


first of -> make sure all of your profiles have history deleted - very important. secondly, the profiles have to intersect each other which means curvesnap the first profile when setting up next profile and so on. after you have your profiles tweaked to your pleasance and deleted history again on all curves -

-very important-

go Edit Curves -> Cut Curve.
this cuts all curves at their intersection points. only if your curves are sepparated the birail tool will work out well. that was my pain in the ass once which kept me thinking for some days..

but Iīm not into curves and nurbs really, so it could be anything else!


But:
Result: dspBirailSurface17 dpBirailSrf17

means when performing the birail operation your surface was created! maybe try executing this command ->

select dspBirailSurface17 dpBirailSrf17 ;


in the Script Editor. you have selected the created surface then and might go to the hypergraph/outliner and have a look at it.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŪ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.