Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-12-2005, 09:46 PM   #1
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Border Edge Problem When Extruding

Well, as I said in my other thread, I have gone back to an earlier base mesh version of my human model. So far, it was totally worth it, except for one problem. For some reason, when I was extruding the neck, some of the edges/vertices did not stay together (even though I have the keep new faces planar and together options checked). If you download the file, and I would love it if you could, and turn on border edges, you will see what I am talking about by the neck. If anyone could fix this or tell me how to fix it, I would greatly praise you, as I could finally get back to modelling as per normal.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Files
File Type: rar gi_tutorial_for_mod.rar (93.3 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Nusirilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2005, 11:25 PM   #2
Pyrus
Subscriber
 
Pyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fries Fries Fries
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Edit Polys / Merge Verts : value of 0.01 (mine by default when mergin' after a combine)


ps : for your previous problem, the first action after combining polys is, also, a Merge Verts (i also select the central vertical line of verts in the front view if i'm not sure about the value, in case of high poly modeling e.g.)

The point is up here, if you don't merge verts, you keep the invisible duplicated edges, so the open edges.
After combining and merging, set these edges defined by the same line of verts, as being soft edges (Edit Poly / Normals / Soften-Harden). This removes the crease.

Therefore, you understand now there's no need to Soften-Harden before mergin' verts << Open edges stay "Hard"
Pyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2005, 01:41 AM   #3
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, about the merging vertices, I definitely knew about that, and did that all around the edges (and there were actually a few vertices that were not attached for some unknown reason.) However, this still didn't solve the problem, as the border edges through the neck are still visible and I can't convert the model into subds.

EDIT: If anyone wants to just go into Maya and fix it for me, I'll pay them 2 whole dollars :O hehe. But seriously, it would probably be best if you looked at the file, even if you don't work on it, to see exactly the problem I'm referring to.
__________________

Last edited by Nusirilo : 23-12-2005 at 01:46 AM.
Nusirilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2005, 11:20 AM   #4
Pyrus
Subscriber
 
Pyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fries Fries Fries
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay sorry dude I missed some part it seems.

Well, the final solution to your problem is that you still got non manifold edges >> means some face-normals are outwards your model, and some are inwards. Creating a disturbing polys topology that can't be transformed in SubD.

Polygon >> Cleanup : activate only "Nonmanifold geometry" checkbox . Cleanup Button.

Then, you're back to SubD

ps : I don't know your level, so sorry if I write down too much details you already know, it's another habit willing to tell all without dropping the details.


Cheers

Last edited by Pyrus : 23-12-2005 at 11:23 AM.
Pyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2005, 01:38 PM   #5
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mucho gracias man For some reason, I had to clean it up, merge all the vertices again, and then clean it up again. The first time I cleaned it up and tried to convert it, it changed all of the neck faces into something similar to what you would see if you were to use the polygon faces command when it was a polygon. Nonetheless, it seems to be working now, so thank you very much, man!
__________________
Nusirilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.