Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-04-2007, 02:18 PM   #1
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default New Monitor

Hey guys,

I just got a new 22” Widescreen LCD Dell monitor (E228WFP), my old monitor was a 20” CRT NEC monitor which was the size of a hippo’s head. Not only is the quality 5 times better, but I got to set my resolution up to 1680 x 1050, 60 Hz (On my old monitor it was 1280 x 1024, 75 Hz). It makes a huge difference in Maya (Or anything on my computer). But since it was from Dell the first one they sent me had a problem with it. I have a couple questions:

What is the refresh rate (the Hz part) and what does it do? Am I supposed to set it higher or lower?

Who here has the biggest monitor and highest resolution?

-Jr.Who
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:27 PM   #2
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: New Monitor

Originally posted by Jr.Who


Who here has the biggest monitor and highest resolution?

A bit of monitor envy

The refresh rate has somthing to do with how many times the picture is displayed and changed per second. Its a bit like framerate to put it simply. The higher it is the smoother the picture.
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 05:03 PM   #3
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

1 Hz is 1 cyle per second. If you monitor is set to 60 Hz which is usually default if windows does not recognize you monitor, then that means the picture on your screen is being redrawn 60 times every second. I believe the recommended setting for a monitor is 72 - 75 Hz (especially for larger monitors). If it's too slow you will see your screen flicker and will be more bothersome to your eyes. Faster is better, but be careful because I believe you can damage your monitor if you set it too high (higher than your monitor can handle). If it's plug-n-play, the operating system should adjust the Hz accordingly to your resolution setting, make & model.

You said you monitor is 1680 X 1050 res. I would think that 75 Hz would be fine.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 05:16 PM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

http://computer.howstuffworks.com/monitor6.htm

this will let you know what each setting means... keep in mind though that most times anything more than 60 fps (or Hz) is faster than the normal human eye can track.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 10:14 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

My Monitor goes to 1900 x 1200 resolution, it is a laptop though!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 02:19 AM   #6
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Refresh rate does not apply to LCD monitors becuase of the difference in operation between LCD and CRT monitors. LCD monitors still have a refresh rate property becuase it would have cost too much money to replace it with something else, since our graphics cards are designed to operate with a refresh rate.

Anyways, for more information, check out the Wikipedia entry:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Refresh_rate

In LCD monitors, I think (don't try it at home, I'm not 100% sure) that if setting a refresh rate higher than what is supported won't fry your screen becuase of built in protection, unlike CRT monitors where the refresh rate controls the electron gun.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 03:06 AM   #7
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well refresh rates are measured differently in lcd monitors than in crt monitors because lcds still do have a refresh rate, but in an lcd it's the time between the changing current to alter color which lessens or eliminates an lcd's famous 'ghosting' effect (which was seen in early laptops).
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 03:27 AM   #8
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

True, the 'refresh rate' in LCD monitors is called the response time and thats usually measured in milliseconds.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 08:37 AM   #9
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
My Monitor goes to 1900 x 1200 resolution, it is a laptop though!
But what’s the size of it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 11:02 AM   #10
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

When I relocated here I dumped my two CRTs and replaced them with a Dell 2407WFP 24" (1920x1200 native) and it's been the best upgrade I've made to my machine in a very long time
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 08:18 PM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
But what’s the size of it?
Its 17" Didnt really fancy getting a 19" or 20" laptop, kind of defeats the point of it, although 17" is pushing it for portability but Ive not had any problems lugging it to and from uni every day.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinģ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.