Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-12-2002, 09:19 PM   #1
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Post Don't know how to scale multiple faces.

Take a cube and select two faces opposite each other. Select the move tool and move it left or right. As you can see, both faces move left when you move the move tool handle and and move right when you move the tool handle right. If you select both faces and go to extrude face, then move the manipulator outward from the box, both faces move away from each other. Is there a way to move both faces away from each other without using the extrude face or scale tool? I actually am going to apply this to something more complex.

You see, I have a model of a dinosaur. I selected all the faces, then chose Duplicate Faces. I then scaled down. When you do this, it scales down each face without moving it to a different possition. It is the equivilent of selecting every face once at a time and scaling it down. If you were to select all the faces then scale it down using the scale tool, however, you would just scale down the size of the entire object.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 10:29 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Errr...I'm not sure if I follow but have you tried turning on the Polygons -> Tool Options -> Keep Faces Together. Then try again what ever you were doing
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 06:25 PM   #3
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

sounds like a local/global thing, but that only affects move
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 09:46 AM   #4
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

try moving the pivot point.. press insert to go into pivot mode and press insert again to go out..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 08:29 PM   #5
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Look in the Duplicate Face option box for the Seperate Duplicated Faces option

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2002, 03:13 PM   #6
mitsuo_simplymaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why won't the scale tool work in this case... To me it seems that the answer may lie there.
mitsuo_simplymaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2002, 08:00 PM   #7
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

No, no, no. Your all wrong. I suppose I need to explain a bit more. I'll try to get an image up that explains some of this in greater detail soon. It's just such a hassle to get an image from my Maya computer to the internet computer, which is why I really haven't responded to this thread. Ok. Just hold on until I get motivated enough to do it all.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep faces on Sircharles Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 07-12-2010 01:20 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
New Feature: Multiple Image Upload David Members Lounge 0 30-11-2010 09:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.