Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-07-2009, 07:28 PM   #1
Registered User
TortureTrain's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default smooth skins/component editor problem


I want to weight some vertices of my model after binding the rig. Well I do this in the component editor in the smooth skins tab. Some of you guys know what I mean. The Problem is that when I use the slider (which determines the value between 0 and 1) it snaps to 1 or to 0 again. I cannot have an value of for example 0.43. The vertices of the model are snapping. And.... this warning appears:

Warning: Some weights could not be set to the specified value. The weight total would have exceeded 1.0.

What does that mean? How can I fix it?

Attached Thumbnails
TortureTrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:05 PM   #2
Chirone's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts

the warning means what it says

the total weight for the vertex will not be a whole number

you vertex is being influenced by two bones and each bone gives a weight on the vertex, the way soft skinning works is that movement of the vertex depends on the weight assigned to the influencing bones

so for example you can have the weight be 0.43 on one bone (one column in that table) and the other bone would have to be 0.57, and they total 1

i've never used what you're doing to adjust weights so im not sure how to change the values in both columns at once (although i thought it was automatic? obviously not)
i always just used the paint weights tool

that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.