Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-10-2009, 08:32 PM   #1
Elijah aryee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ghana
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Graphics Card

been using this Graphic card for some time now, am ready to move to the next level of Graphic..am talking about upGrading my systems.
just need some information concernig the one i should purchase.....and now my question to you all: What the best Graphic Card on the market today for intel based systems.
Please try to give brand name and description and it ability to increase productivity and hold great scenes....thanks for the help!:bow:
__________________
DriveKay
Elijah aryee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2009, 05:13 AM   #2
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Well, you can't really go wrong with the Quadro's (NVidia) or FirePro's (ATI).

Going with gaming cards, such as Geforce, or Radeon's, can be a bit risky, as they seem to be hit-and-miss depending on your computer's setup. A setup for one person, may not work for another. If you are going to go for a gaming card as they are much cheaper, go for the Radeon's, as they have been OpenGL support. Any geforce's that we have at work have major issues with Maya.

You also want to make sure you get a card with a good amount of ram on it. (512mb+) This will dramatically increase how many textures and other graphic elements can be cached at one time.

Also look into upgrading your ram on your motherboard as well. This will also speed up your machine greatly.

If you need to, take a look at the official qualification charts for Maya. http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...&siteID=123112
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.