Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-03-2003, 06:35 PM   #1
Registered User
shantanu11's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default landscape

hey how do i make realistc skyies, that is with clouds,
shantanu11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 06:49 PM   #2
M's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

Hey, if you want to make skies, i suggest not modelling them.. but using a image as your background.

(View>Camera attribute editor>Enviroment tab>image plane) then add the sky images and position the camera kinda where you want it at.. and it will render it into the bg. I dont really know of another way to add a background. If you want to model it, probably with particles.
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email -
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 07:01 PM   #3
Super Moderator
ragecgi's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

Do you want to fly throught them?

Or are they just for backgrounds etc?

If they are just for backgrounds, there is a great tutorial on the A|W site regarding the use of the ENV Sky node here:

Also, downloadable A|W sky images can be found here:

Otherwise, 2d photographs of a large sky(s) are freely available at many texture resource sites.

Do a search on this site for sky textures, or just textures in general, and you can go from there

If you want to fly through them, that's a WHOLE other ball of wax

Lemme know...
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 07:26 PM   #4
Konstantinos's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

for fly through clouds you can use PaintFx ....
press 8 to go to Paintfx mode hold space and
choose Canvas->paint scene
Then from paintfx tool "options" make sure that
"Paint at depth " is checked on.
Use the Visor to choose a cloud brush, adjusts the brush size
switch to perspective viewport and you "paint in
depth ..." . You can fly through and have "real"
clouds around you... Warning... Paint fx is bad for the cpu load...
use with wizdom and only when necessary... otherwise i suggerst imageplane backgrounds too....

You know, there are at least two ways of getting things done... Your way and the right way...

Last edited by Konstantinos : 02-03-2003 at 07:38 PM.
Konstantinos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 08:17 PM   #5
Registered User
mshoward82's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

You could also use thr program Terragen to create a sky and then use )V( 's method to place the image into the scene.

Download Terragen Here

Just a thought
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.