Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-05-2003, 03:44 AM   #1
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Heaallp ! bump map prob..

my bumpmap is not showing up.. its liked to the right UV just like the color textue map.. but on the bump channel.. so that should be right.. is there something in the render globals or atributes that would prevent it from rendering ??

also is there a way to see the bump map with the hardware texture on ??

Last edited by Pony : 01-05-2003 at 03:52 AM.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 03:55 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

ambient lights do not show bump maps... You may also need to UV map your model. Those are the only 2 reasons I could think of.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 04:29 AM   #3
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

its fully UV maped.. and the bump maps show up on the other parts of the model with the other UV sets..
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 02:29 AM   #4
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
ambient lights do not show bump maps
Yea, Ive noticed that. Anyone know why that is?
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 03:38 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

ambient lights cast light everywhere. They don't really break for shadows, although they do cast slight shadows. So, bumps don't really get calculated with them. Hope that kinda makes sense.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 01:57 PM   #6
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Pony,

eh... I don't know if this will help you... but AW has a little tutorial here... "HOW TO COMBINE BUMP & DISPLACEMENT MAPS"... -->
http://www.aliaswavefront.com/en/Com...ent/index.html
is says version 2.5 thou... but I think i would work on newer versions also...

regards

Strarup
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 02:07 PM   #7
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

An ambient light in reality is just a brightness wash applied over the render, and normally destroy a good looking render if used incorrectly. Maya´s ambient light does differ from the pack since it does compute the position of the light, however not as much as you would perhaps like.
That´s why the bumpmap isn´t computed within the ambient light.
Go through Mike´s three point tutorial to get a good sense of lighting a 3d scene. That way you´ll preserve the bump map, and achieve a fairly better render.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 11:09 AM   #8
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Well a update for you all. in V4 of maya. You can not have a bump map on more than one UV set. This was suposto be fixed in 4.5 but not compleatly.

Basicly you cant use bump maps with multiple UV sets. It will only bump certain UVsets that are on the same shell, >> eraticly.

Maybe it is fixed better in V5 ..
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Challenge -Jerry Can Texturing honestdom Battle Arena 77 03-12-2010 01:20 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.