Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-11-2003, 08:01 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Viewport refreshing problem

Hi everyone,

I have just got Maya 5.0 PLE and I am having some viewport refreshing problems. When I go from the four view to just 1 view by hitting the spacebar, once the viewport has maximized, it just stays totally gray, no objects, no grid, nothing. I have to create a new object for everything to become visible again. I have snooped around the Performance Settings but can't seem to get the viewports to refresh properly. I have never had this problem with any other version of Maya.

My current system specs:

Intel Celeron 633mHz
GeForce4 MX440 64MB AGP4x
Samsung 60GB ATA66 7200RPM HDD
NEC MultiSync XV17+ Monitor
1024x768, 32bit TrueColor at 85 hertz
Windows XP Pro with SP1

Any help would be great.

Thanks guys/gals
QwErTyKb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2003, 08:14 AM   #2
dave_baer's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts

Maya 5 = buggy

Maya 5 PLE = Who knows...

My guess is it has something to do with either the preferences, the program or your video card, or a combination of the three. If the problem persists, go back to a version that didn't give you any problems. Sorry, but that's about the best advice I can give without knowing more about Maya 5.0 PLE or your system.
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 05:46 AM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Thanks for your suggestions Dave.

I figured out it was my drivers that were the problem. I had the new 52.16 drivers installed. I reverted back to the 45.33 drivers and now Maya works perfectly, the viewports refresh properly now so all is good.

Seeing as how I haven't noticed any significant improvements in performance of games etc with the 52.16 drivers, I may as well just stick to the 45.33 drivers until NVidia releases a new drivers version to see if they work.

Thanks again,
QwErTyKb is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.